vADC Forum

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-22-2015
Accepted Solution

Need help to configure stingray traffic manager 9.9

Hi all,

Currently i have installed traffic manager in two linux servers for active-active connections and we installed two web servers.

Our plan is need to test the below scenario:

1.) In case any web server is down will traffic manager able to redirect the traffic to remaining web severs.

2.) In case any one of the traffic manager is down another traffic manager will able to handle the request.

I am new to this riverbed product.Pls anyone help to configure the traffic manager to test this scenario.

Pls share any step by step guide for configuration it will be helpful.

Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎05-21-2013

Re: Need help to configure stingray traffic manager 9.9

Hi Dhinesh,

What you are asking is more or less what the STM was 'born' to do. You will have no problem achieving this.

Perhaps starting with this document will get you underway:

Getting Started - Load-balancing to a website using Stingray Traffic Manager

Then later on, perhaps this will help (allthough not addressing your exact question):

Managing consistent caches across a Stingray Cluster

Best regards

Bjarke Emborg Kragelund

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-22-2015

Re: Need help to configure stingray traffic manager 9.9

Hi Bjarke,

Thank you very much for the information.

Currently i have installed traffic manager in Amazon cloud for

testing.And also i installed two web servers and one normal server for

testing those web servers.All servers are installed in amazon cloud and

I have created a new pool and added those server.Next i have configured

virtual server and i mapped the pool to the virtual server.

Up to this point i have no doubt.Next i need to access the web server

through via normal server.

Can i know the next step of configuration to achieve this task..

Please clarify the below doubts:

1.)How can i configure the traffic ip group.I can't able to configure the

traffic ip group.

2.)How to assign the ip address to virtual server.

I am new this product i amn't clear how its working in the cloud

environment...Please help me to understand...

On Fri, Jan 23, 2015 at 12:49 PM, Bjarke Emborg Kragelund <

Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎05-21-2013

Re: Need help to configure stingray traffic manager 9.9

Hi Dhinesh,

You question 1) and 2) are very much tied together :-)

The flow in the STM is Traffic IP Group <-> Virtual Server <-> Pool, so you need a Traffic Group. Try to add an additional IP to your STM via 'Services' | 'Traffic IP Groups'.

(I believe it is possible to use the administrative IP of the STM for a VS, but for clarity I do not recommend it)

To start things off simple, choose an IP on the same IF (eth0?) and the same subnet as the STM administrative IP. That way you can make sure - or almost sure - that IP traffic will actually flow.

Next you assign you VS to that exact TG.

'Services' | 'Virtual Servers' - choose your VS.

Go to 'Listening on:' - choose 'Traffic IP Groups' - choose the Traffic IP Group you just created.

You should now be able to access the service hosted on the pool servers via the STM Traffic Group.

Best regards

Bjarke Emborg Kragekund

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-22-2015

Re: Need help to configure stingray traffic manager 9.9

Thanks for your mail...

Currently I can't able to create the traffic IP group and while I am

clicking the traffic IP group the below message displayed...

  1. Specify an EC2 account on the global settings page

Pls how to create traffic IP group...

On Monday, January 26, 2015, Bjarke Emborg Kragelund <no-reply@riverbed.com>

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-22-2015

Re: Need help to configure stingray traffic manager 9.9

Pls find the attached screenshot for you ref.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-22-2015

Re: Need help to configure stingray traffic manager 9.9

Awaiting for your response....

Need help to proceed further....

Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎05-21-2013

Re: Need help to configure stingray traffic manager 9.9

Hi Dhinesh,

I am afraid that the AWS/EC2-setup is not something I have any experience with.

Have you tried to enter your EC2 credentials as sugested?

What happens?

Try to take a look at this guide : SteelApp for Application Delivery Control & Scalability | SteelApp for AWS deployments | Riverbed

Best regards

Bjarke Emborg Kragelund

Brocadian
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎11-29-2012

Re: Need help to configure stingray traffic manager 9.9

Dhinesh,

The documentation covers the elements you need pretty well. Manuals are available from here: SteelApp Traffic Manager

I would start with the "Cloud Services Getting Started Guide" and the "Stingray Traffic Manager User Manual".


Specifically, Chapter 8 in the "Cloud Services Getting Started Guide" covers how Traffic IP's work on EC2 (using Elastic IPs), but should be read after reading and understanding how Traffic IPs work on a regular STM first.


Hope this helps.


A.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

Download FREE NVMe eBook