Virtual Router/ Firewall/ VPN

New Contributor

Newbie Vyatta Firewall Rule Port question

Hi all.  I'm new to Vyatta but have used software firewalls in the past.  I'm trying to simply allow 50 Ports and block all the other ports.  I can't find an example of how this a)is done (step by step) or b)what an example looks like.

I can find really complex examples with IPs and domains, etc.  but we don't care about that...I just want to allow a bunch of ports and block every other port.  I am hoping this is very easy and straightforward.

I've looked at:  http://wiki.vyos.net/wiki/User_Guide#Firewall   and   Chapter 2 at http://www.brocade.com/content/html/en/administration-guide/vyatta_5400_manual/wwhelp/wwhimpl/js/html/wwhelp.htm#href=Firewall/Configuration%20Examples.03.05.html     and https://knowledgelayer.softlayer.com/learning/network-gateway-devices-vyatta         as well as Googling for quite awhile.  This Vyatta device is on IBM Softlayer.

Can someone help me out?

Thanks in advance!

New Contributor

Re: Newbie Vyatta Firewall Rule Port question

Hi. There have been a lot of views but no replies...I would greatly appreciate some help as this is my first time using Vyatta. Thanks again.
Brocade Moderator

Hello,

You don't say whether it is source or destination ports or whether they are TCP or UDP.  Here is an example, hopefully this all makes sense.

set firewall name deny_ports default-action 'drop'
set firewall name deny_ports rule 1 action 'accept'
set firewall name deny_ports rule 1 destination port '22,23,80,443'
set firewall name deny_ports rule 1 protocol 'tcp'
set firewall name deny_ports rule 2 action 'accept'
set firewall name deny_ports rule 2 destination port '53'
set firewall name deny_ports rule 2 protocol 'udp'

You can add further rules as required.

You will then need to apply it to an interface and specify direction

eg

set int eth eth0 firewall out name deny_ports

Regards

Steve

New Contributor

Thanks, Steve.  2 other questions: