Management Software

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-12-2011

How can I determine community string that is switch/router/loadbalancer?

Since there are more than one engineer and configs that date back, I am unable to be sure of some community strings on the appliances.

How can I determine what they are?

Thanks in advance

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: How can I determine community string that is switch/router/loadbalancer?

If their configured in some kind of monitoring tool (Cacti, Cisco, Brocade) you're only option (AFAIK) is to log on to each and every device and look at the SNMP config.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-12-2011

Re: How can I determine community string that is switch/router/loadbalancer?

Fair enough, I am in the appliance, stil only see hash...

How can I see the string?

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: How can I determine community string that is switch/router/loadbalancer?

What appliance?

>>the switch/router/loadbalancer itself

>>the management box for switches/routers/loadbalancers

What produkt do you use i.e. what brand/name?

Is management webbased and if yes?

>>Did you try a password revealer >>  google or http://www.tweakandtrick.com/2011/04/asterisk-password-star-show-view-reveal.html

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-12-2011

Re: How can I determine community string that is switch/router/loadbalancer?

Any Foundry/Brocade switch, or Loadbalancer.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: How can I determine community string that is switch/router/loadbalancer?

Without any details on how where you are trying to get the SNMP community strings I can only say;

If the network devices doesn't let you look at the comm.string in plain text through web or cli GUI

AndIf any SNMP montoring tool in which aformentioned devices are visible doesn't show them either in gui OR databases

AndIf nobody bothered to write to strings down somewhere

AndIf nobody present in the company can reproduce those strings OR the ones who left the company

Fi

options

-add new string leave ald ones intact so nothing breaks.

-reset SNMP strings

And document new strings

Job done

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook