Management Software

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-30-2009

Firmware upgrade unsuccessful v6.3.1a

Using the DCFM 10.3.1 to upgrade the firmware in one of our data centres.

DCX as core with 5300's as edge switches.

Successfully imported the v6.3.1a into the repository.

Successfully updated 5 of the 6  switches ... 5300

The 6th fails with the following generic message ... "The server is inaccessible or firmware path is invalid. Please make sure the server name or IP address, the user/password and he firmware path are valid."

Seems like a bogus message since the first 5 switches worked fine.

Same model of switches.

Upgrading from the same firmware to the same destination firmware.

Same user account is used for all switches.

Cecked the user accounts on all the switches and they are all identical.

Tried it locally on the switch and it fails from both ftp and using the USB port.

Rebooted the switch and still no go.

Ideas ?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-17-2008

Re: Firmware upgrade unsuccessful v6.3.1a

is it possible you are using a hostname and the switch does not have DNS configured?

N/A
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-01-2008

Re: Firmware upgrade unsuccessful v6.3.1a

what we did is make sure the ip port is full duplex and the speed is locked down to 100m

apc

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-30-2009

Re: Firmware upgrade unsuccessful v6.3.1a

Nope, DCFM is IP based to discover, and like I said, we tried to telnet into the switch and run it manually with no success.

Been seeing other issues with the switch, having problems finding certain commands ...

Pretty sure the image is corrupt or the memory is bad.

Swapped out the switch and it's Hitachi's problem now (they sold us the switches)

Switch will most likely be replaced ... That batch of 5300's was not the greatest, we actually swapped out 5 out of 70.

Cheers

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-30-2009

Re: Firmware upgrade unsuccessful v6.3.1a

Replace switch

N/A
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-21-2011

Re: Firmware upgrade unsuccessful v6.3.1a

I understand a reboot did not work for you, but I had the same problem, and a reset did work for me, so definately worth trying as a first step.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook