Mainframe & FICON

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-18-2012

ISL Brocade - Ciena - Adva - DarkFiber - Adva - Ciena - Brocade

Hi every ones,

We need your help to figure out the best setting for the following environment:

We are putting online four ISLs between a primary CED and its DR.

The distance is about 150km.

The topology is:

BROCADE5100 -- CIENA CN2000 -- ADVA FSP2000 -- dark fiber 150km -- ADVA FSP2000 -- CIENA CN2000 -- BROCADE 5100

The protocol is FICON 2G.

the BROCADE 5100 (V 6.4.2a ) config is:

admin> portcfgshow 0

Area Number: 0

Speed Level: 2G

AL_PA Offset 13: OFF

Trunk Port OFF

Long Distance OFF

VC Link Init OFF

Locked L_Port OFF

Locked G_Port ON

Disabled E_Port OFF

ISL R_RDY Mode ON

RSCN Suppressed OFF

Persistent Disable OFF

NPIV capability ON

...

fabric.ficonmode:0

fabric.fidcheckdisable:0

fabric.hifmode:0

fabric.ididmode:0

fabric.ops.BBCredit:16

fabric.ops.E_D_TOV:2000

fabric.ops.R_A_TOV:10000

fabric.ops.bladeFault_on_hwErrlevel:0

fabric.ops.dataFieldSize:2112

the CIENA CN2000 (V 5.1.2) config is:

CIF 1-2 configuration:

---------------------

Label:

Protocol: FC

CRx Max R_Rdy Return Cnt: 2

CRx Frame Hi Threshold: 3

CRx Frame Lo Threshold: 2

CTx BB Credit Configure Mode: auto

CTx Configurable BB Credit: NA

Link Initialization: transparent

Write Acceleration Mode: disable

Max Burst Size: 64 kB

Rate: auto

Max Concurrent Exchange: 64

WA Overflow Behaviour: busy status

Target Allocation Mode: Auto-Release

Command Validation Mode: disable

Flow control: on

Compression: auto

Is this the best way to configure the environment? Do you have any tips?

Are there any specific fabric.settings for this ISL through the Ciena extensor and the Adva DWDM?

Thank you.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-18-2012

Re: ISL Brocade - Ciena - Adva - DarkFiber - Adva - Ciena - Brocade

I add some more info if it can help:

admin> licenseshow

bRS9Sbe9QQcSTATT:

    Fabric license

R9dedRQRyRSQife4:

    Full Ports on Demand license - additional 16 port upgrade license

R9dedRQRyRSAifeo:

    Second Ports on Demand license - additional 8 port upgrade license

H3N94rRZLRYBGRKtDatNCamZm7A3tSFEBJMJH:

    Enhanced Group Management license

XaWCCQSWBaMY3mrfZLgfKfW9LgXFYEDTB79PL:

    8 Gig FC license

...

Long Distance         OFF

...

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: ISL Brocade - Ciena - Adva - DarkFiber - Adva - Ciena - Brocade

Hi,

In a ficon environment you cannot use the default routing policy, you need to set one of the following:

- port-base routing policy

- exchange based routing policy with Lossless enabled.

Also IOD must be enabled.

On the other hand, with such distance, 150 Km you need to configure the ISL as Long Distance (and you need a license for that on both switchs).

Rgds

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-18-2012

Re: ISL Brocade - Ciena - Adva - DarkFiber - Adva - Ciena - Brocade

Hi,

thanks for the answer.

Regarding the Distance we knew that Long Distance + license on the Brocade is not needed because we don't have the Brocade directly connected to the Adva CWDM. There is the extensor Ciena CN2000 that takes care of it. Isn't so?

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: ISL Brocade - Ciena - Adva - DarkFiber - Adva - Ciena - Brocade

--->>>the BROCADE 5100 (V 6.4.2a )

Flavio,

What is the reason you use FOS 6.4.2a ?

FOS 6.4.2a is FICON Supported, however AFAIK(!) Port based Routing is required.


TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: ISL Brocade - Ciena - Adva - DarkFiber - Adva - Ciena - Brocade


BTW

--->>>In a ficon environment .../....., you need to set one of the following:

- exchange based routing policy with Lossless enabled.

EBR / DPS, accordly IBM Qualification is suspended in FICON Environments until further notice.

TechHelp24
Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: ISL Brocade - Ciena - Adva - DarkFiber - Adva - Ciena - Brocade

Hi,

Regarding the Distance we knew that Long Distance + license on the Brocade is not needed because we don't have the Brocade directly connected to the Adva CWDM. There is the extensor Ciena CN2000 that takes care of it. Isn't so?

Nope, you still need Extended fabric licences in order to get extra BB credits to be able to cover 150Km, because the flow control in Fibre Channel is performed from switch to switch. The CWDM equipment is 'transparent', so to speak, to the FC Fabric.

Rgds,

F

Kind rgds,

F

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: ISL Brocade - Ciena - Adva - DarkFiber - Adva - Ciena - Brocade

Thanks for the clarification Antonio, I checked that out in the Brocade FICON Admin guide and I suppose that does not contains the latest IBM recommendations.

Kind regards,

F

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: ISL Brocade - Ciena - Adva - DarkFiber - Adva - Ciena - Brocade

from my point of view, accordly the Design posted by Flavio

--->>>BROCADE5100 -- CIENA CN2000 -- ADVA FSP2000 -- dark fiber 150km -- ADVA FSP2000 -- CIENA CN2000 -- BROCADE 5100

Extended Fabric License is NOT required.

Is just my opinion.


TechHelp24
Brocadian
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎08-13-2009

Re: ISL Brocade - Ciena - Adva - DarkFiber - Adva - Ciena - Brocade

I believe that is correct Antonio

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.