Fibre Channel (SAN)

Occasional Contributor

step by step configuration brocade 300

Hi TechHelp24

Thank you for your suggestion as you know that i am new to this product..

i am new to brocade 300 FC  SAN Switch. i have 2 Brocade 300 switchs and we have 10 HBA Cards for SUN Blade 6270 Server.. one storate 6218

My both Brocade Switch web tool default IP is. http://10.77.77.77  after i login admin. what i have to do.. plase any one can suggest me  step by step configuration for single Brocade 300.  our brocade switch are new.

please kinldy help

Super Contributor

Re: step by step configuration brocade 300

Aslam,

here are TWO Principal Manuaels. The Command Reference Manuals, and the Fabric OS Administrator Guide.

First at all, go to http://learning.brocade.com and register. Here are a lot of Course and DOC which can be very helpfull for you.

Some are for Free, see as example for FC 101 Introduction to Fibre Channel Concepts, this is a Fundamental Course and Introduction to Fibre Channel Technology.

About you scenario.

At first, if you have more as One Switch in the Fabric, must make sure that each Switch have a Unique Domain ID.

By Default all Switch have DID 1, in this case you must change in the Second Switch the DID to 2.

Connect Trough Telnet as admin, execute the command switchdisable and the configure -> and press Enter till appear the field with the DID, change the value from Default 1 to 2, press enter, leave all other Value as Default, exit from this menue, and execute now switchenable to activated the switch.

To change the Switch IP Address, execute the command ipaddrset follow the description......, ipaddrshow list the current IP Address.

From the Second Thread>

--->>> i have 2 brocade 300 switch. how i can connect this 2 brocde 300 switch (cabeling) fail over configuration?

here are TWO Methode to Create a Failover, Both Switch as Standalone, or both Swicthes in the same Fabric.