Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-18-2010

"QoS disable" message

Hi,

Recently we are receiving the followoing error:

2010/03/17-19:57:33, , 383, SLOT 6 | FID 128, WARNING, FAB_A_DIR, Port (ID: 129) QOS is disabled

I'm new on this switches things and I don't understand what is going on, can any one help me to find what is happening? this is not the first port that became into this condition.

I'm using a director 48000 with Fabric OS v6.3.0b, Kernel 2.6.14.2

Jason.

Thanks,

Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: "QoS disable" message

put the cmd portcfgshow and if you will get the following mesage, you do nto hav eot be worried

HDFC_BLR03:user> portcfgshow
Ports of Slot 1    0  1  2  3    4  5  6  7    8  9 10 11   12 13 14 15
-----------------+--+--+--+--+----+--+--+--+----+--+--+--+----+--+--+--
Speed             AN AN AN AN   AN AN AN AN   AN AN AN AN   AN AN AN AN
Fill Word          0  0  0  0    0  0  0  0    0  0  0  0    0  0  0  0
AL_PA Offset 13   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..
Trunk Port        ON ON ON ON   ON ON ON ON   ON ON ON ON   ON ON ON ON
Long Distance     .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..
VC Link Init      .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..
Locked L_Port     .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..
Locked G_Port     .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..
Disabled E_Port   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..
ISL R_RDY Mode    .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..
RSCN Suppressed   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..
Persistent Disable.. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..
NPIV capability   ON ON ON ON   ON ON ON ON   ON ON ON ON   ON ON ON ON
QOS E_Port        ON ON ON ON   ON ON ON ON   ON ON ON ON   ON ON ON ON
EX Port           .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..
Mirror Port       .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..
Rate Limit        .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..
Credit Recovery   ON ON ON ON   ON ON ON ON   ON ON ON ON   ON ON ON ON
Fport Buffers     .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..
Port Auto Disable .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..

Super Contributor
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎04-09-2008

Re: "QoS disable" message

Q: Is port with area id 129 an ISL port / E port?? run

> switchshow | grep 129

Also capture

fabriclog -s

and

errshow -r

in a text file and attach it here. I'll try my best to see if there is a coz for concern.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-18-2010

Re: "QoS disable" message

Hi, thanks for your answers,

All setting for QoS on E_ports are:

QOS E_Port        .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..

but my ports are F_ports, Do I need these feature enable if the ports are F_ports?

This behavior is not seen where the storage is attached only where the servers are attached.

attached is the errshow -r  and the fabriclog -s.

thanks for your help,


Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: "QoS disable" message

No need to enable the QOS, it is enable d by default.If E-ports are QOS enabled, no need to enable it on F ports

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-18-2010

Re: "QoS disable" message

OK, but in this case the QoS on E_ports feature is disable, so do you think that I should enable it? how do I verify the Qos on F_ports?

thanks,

Super Contributor
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎04-09-2008

Re: "QoS disable" message

Hi Jason,

Seems like someone has already run a portcfgqosdisable on all your ports. The effects of running the command has been seen now when your ports are going offline and online. No need to worry if these messages are seen on F ports, but if you see the messages on E ports, then you should have a quick look and see if its affecting the trunks.

1. The action I would recommend is to speak to your colleagues and check who disabled QOS on all the ports, if he/she has done it, then draw a plan to enable and disable (bounce) all the E ports.

2. Run islshow and post the o/p - I might be able to give you some more opinion.

3. Run iodshow and post o/p

From the logs

errshow -r

2010/03/18-10:44:31, , 397, SLOT 6 | FID 128, INFO, FAB_A_DIR,  The last device change happened at : Thu Mar 18 10:44:29 2010\par
\par
2010/03/18-10:44:26, , 396, SLOT 6 | FID 128, WARNING, FAB_A_DIR, Port (ID: 174) QOS is disabled\par

fabriclog -s shows your port bouncing for some reason

10:43:22.412299 SCN Port Offline;g=0x16a                    D0,P0  D0,P0  174   NA\par
10:43:22.412314 *Removing all nodes from port               D0,P0  D0,P0  174   NA\par
10:44:26.468753 SCN LR_PORT (0);g=0x16a                     D0,P0  D0,P0  174   NA\par
10:44:26.599620 SCN Port Online;g=0x16a                     D0,P0  D0,P1  174   NA\par
10:44:26.601254 Send ELP requesting VC RDY + ARB mode       D0,P1  D0,P1  174   NA\par
10:44:26.601600 *ELP Send:rev=2,flow=1,flen=80,size=164     D0,P1  D0,P1  174   0xb2d1\par
10:44:28.474507 SCN Port F_PORT                             D0,P1  D0,P0  174   NA\par
10:44:28.474521 *Removing all nodes from port               D0,P0  D0,P0  174   NA\par

Regards,

Biju Krishnan

bkrishnan@techhelp24.com

www.techhelp24.com

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook