Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-24-2012

newbie ISL e-port connectivity question

Hi All,

   We are trying to connect FC switches for the first time. We currently have 2 IBM 2005-b16 switches (Room 1) and 2 IBM 2498-b24 switches (Room 2). We have full fabric licenses on all switches. We have connected a 2005-b16 in Room 1 to a 2498-b24 in Room 2 and have connectivity - LEDs and speed. These are on e-ports. We have a server in Room 1 and a tape library in Room 2.

How do we configure the switches/zones so that the server in Room 1 can see the tape library in Room 2?

2005-b16 FW ver: 6.2.2.e

2498-b24 FW ver: 6.4.2.a

Any help is appreciated as we are new to connecting fiber channel switches.

Thanks!

Mike

Regular Contributor
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: newbie ISL e-port connectivity question

Hi,

first you want to confirm that your switches are in the same fabric.

You can do this via the WebTools interface or by entering 'fabricshow' in the CLI.

switchshow in the CLI should also provide some good information.

After you confirmed that the switches have merged it depends on if you have zoning or not.

If you are using zoning you need to zone the tape library with the server.

This means putting the WWpN or "DID, PID" of the library and the server in the same zone.

This can also quite easily be done via the JAVA based web interface.

Your tape library may also require some mapping / presentation after the zoning has been done.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-24-2012

Re: newbie ISL e-port connectivity question

Thanks for the help! It looks like there is a problem with the port communication, possibly with the vc init and fillword settings. I'm looking at the "BROCADE FABRIC OS:  LINK INITIALIZATION AND FILL WORD PRIMITIVE CONFIGURATION" I think I need to change the fill word on the 2948 to 0...?

2005-b16 uplink e-port is port 15

switchshow:

15 15 id N4 Online E-Port segmented,(VC Link Init incompat)

portcfgshow:

Fill Word          0  0  0  0    0  0  0  0    0  0  0  0    0  0  0  0
Long Distance     .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..
VC Link Init      .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..   .. .. .. ..

2948-b24 uplink e-port is port 4
switchshow:

4   4   010400   id    N4   Online      FC  LE E-Port  segmented,(incompatible)

portcfgshow:

Fill Word          3   3   3   3     3   3   3   3     3   3   3   3     3   3
Long Distance      ..  ..  ..  ..    LE  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..

VC Link Init       ..  ..  ..  ..    ON  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-24-2012

Re: newbie ISL e-port connectivity question

Okay, I made changes to the fill word and long distance setting both to 0. Now I'm getting a domain overlap error on both switches.

4   4   010400   id    N4   Online      FC  E-Port  segmented,(domain overlap)

So it looks like I need to Disable the new switch(es) and change their domain to a different value say '2'. Does this sound right?

Thanks,

Mike

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: newbie ISL e-port connectivity question

Yes the DID should be unique within a Fabric

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-24-2012

Re: newbie ISL e-port connectivity question

Okay, got it all working. I had to do a portcfglongdistance, portcfgfillword, and change the domain id.

Thanks,

Mike

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook