Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-14-2017

my i trunking switchs with different firmware versions

my i trunking switchs with different firmware versions

Highlighted
External Moderator
Posts: 5,029
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: my i trunking switchs with different firmware versions

S@ntos51

 

yes, unless the FOS is not compatible or the Switches you want to form ISL/Trunk are not supported in the same Fabric.

 

 

 

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-08-2016

Re: my i trunking switchs with different firmware versions

Guys, 

 

I have the same doubt about this subject. I'm planning to manage trunking between one Director X6-4 with FOS 8.1.1a and three 6520 switches which each switch has a different FOS installed (7.1.1, 7.3.1 and 7.4.1).  I have already read all related FOS admin guides but I couldn't find any information about issues or incompatibility managing trunking between these different microcodes. Is there any other document or link to clarify this question?  

 

Thanks in advanced.

External Moderator
Posts: 5,029
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: my i trunking switchs with different firmware versions

@brunowolff

 

FOS 7.3.1a is the min. required FOS release in order to ISL to FOS 8.1.x

 

details about compatibility are listed as well in the FOS Release Notes.

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-08-2016

Re: my i trunking switchs with different firmware versions

Thanks a lot for your reply, Antonio. But I still couldn't find this information about Brocade 6520 switch in 8.1.1a release notes document.

On page 48, there is a table listing only Brocade 6530 with FOS v7.3.1. Is this could be a typo error? If so, do you know how we can request a correction in this document?  

 

Regards. 

 

External Moderator
Posts: 5,029
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: my i trunking switchs with different firmware versions

[ Edited ]

Hi Bruno,

 

you are right, indeed is a typo in the Release Note, there is no a Brocade 6530 also ignore please and consider the note

as Brocade 6520.

 

in RN FOS v8.1.2 is the same typo.

 

I'll submit to DOC Team in order to fixed the  RN with correct Switch Model.

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-08-2016

Re: my i trunking switchs with different firmware versions

Great, Antonio. Thanks one more time. 

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook