Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-07-2008

locating a wwn location

Hi,

With switches growing into mulipile islands, i'm wondering if there is an easy way to determine the location of a device wwn.

Say I have a hba with 10:00:xx:xx:xx:xx, is there a command to search and locate which brocade that hba is connected to?

Right now, I would have to log into every switch and do a switchshow command, and painfully go through all the wwns.

thanks

External Moderator
Posts: 5,043
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: locating a wwn location

nsshow

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-07-2008

Re: locating a wwn location

nsshow only display information on the switch your currently logged into. I was hoping if there is a command to query the entire fabric,

and return which switch and port number the host is connected to.

External Moderator
Posts: 5,043
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: locating a wwn location

spinsonic

i'am not sure i understand what you exact mean.

as example nscamshow is another valuable command to display all the wwn are connected in the fabric.

another command to dispaly all device in the fabric is nodefind

for more details about ns familiary commands see the CLI guide.

I hope this help.

TechHelp24
Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: locating a wwn location

I agree with TechHelp24.

Another option could be to run SANhealth againt your switches.

This will deliver, among other things, an Visio diagram with complete layout of your fabric.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook