Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎10-08-2012

host migration between SAN768B switches.

Hi

 

we're migrating hosts from old to new SAN768B switches, and until now everything has been done well. However, one of the hosts had a very strange behaviour. It's a backup server and the 2 ports that are used for backup over SAN is going online/offline on the new switch.

I changed the cable and SFP, but the problem still the same. I plugged in the same new cable on the old switch and it's working well as it was before the migration. I've checked port parameters, CC and all of them are exactly the same.

Both switches are on the same firmware level.

 

Any hints, guys?

Brocade Moderator
Posts: 300
Registered: ‎08-31-2009

Re: host migration between SAN768B switches.

Hello,

 

Does new switch is eactly the same model that the old one?

Have you done a configupload from the old swicth and configdownload to the new one?

If configuration of all ports is exactly the same and the change is only the swicth chane it is most likely a physical layer issue.

Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"
Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎10-08-2012

Re: host migration between SAN768B switches.

Hi

 

no, old is 2499-384 and the new one is 2499-816.

 

No, we decided not go for mirroring the configutation, except the zoning via ISL.

50% percent of the hosts were migrated without desruption and are working well, apart these 2 ports.

 

thanks

Brocade Moderator
Posts: 300
Registered: ‎08-31-2009

Re: host migration between SAN768B switches.

Try to fix speed for those 2 ports at the speed they were running before (2, 4 or 8Gb/s).

Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"
Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎10-08-2012

Re: host migration between SAN768B switches.

The speed is the same when I connect on both switches - 8GB.

But I've tried to fix the speed, and this is not the problem.

 

cheers

Brocade Moderator
Posts: 300
Registered: ‎08-31-2009

Re: host migration between SAN768B switches.

What kind of errors do you see in portstatsshow for those 2 ports?

Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"
Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎10-08-2012

Re: host migration between SAN768B switches.

stat_wtx                402049      4-byte words transmitted
stat_wrx                201171      4-byte words received
stat_ftx                10584       Frames transmitted
stat_frx                5298        Frames received
stat_c2_frx             0           Class 2 frames received
stat_c3_frx             5298        Class 3 frames received
stat_lc_rx              0           Link control frames received
stat_mc_rx              0           Multicast frames received
stat_mc_to              0           Multicast timeouts
stat_mc_tx              0           Multicast frames transmitted
tim_rdy_pri             0           Time R_RDY high priority
tim_txcrd_z             0           Time TX Credit Zero (2.5Us ticks)
tim_txcrd_z_vc  0- 3:  0           0           0           0
tim_txcrd_z_vc  4- 7:  0           0           0           0
tim_txcrd_z_vc  8-11:  0           0           0           0
tim_txcrd_z_vc 12-15:  0           0           0           0
er_enc_in               0           Encoding errors inside of frames
er_crc                  0           Frames with CRC errors
er_trunc                0           Frames shorter than minimum
er_toolong              0           Frames longer than maximum
er_bad_eof              0           Frames with bad end-of-frame
er_enc_out              472236      Encoding error outside of frames
er_bad_os               480824      Invalid ordered set
er_pcs_blk              0           PCS block errors
er_rx_c3_timeout        0           Class 3 receive frames discarded due to timeout
er_tx_c3_timeout        0           Class 3 transmit frames discarded due to timeout
er_unroutable           0           Frames that are unroutable
er_unreachable          0           Frames with unreachable destination
er_other_discard        0           Other discards
er_type1_miss           0           frames with FTB type 1 miss
er_type2_miss           0           frames with FTB type 2 miss
er_type6_miss           0           frames with FTB type 6 miss
er_zone_miss            0           frames with hard zoning miss
er_lun_zone_miss        0           frames with LUN zoning miss
er_crc_good_eof         0           Crc error with good eof
er_inv_arb              0           Invalid ARB
er_single_credit_loss   0           Single vcrdy/frame loss on link
er_multi_credit_loss    0           Multiple vcrdy/frame loss on link

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: host migration between SAN768B switches.

@mferreira

 

you open a Threads as SAN768B = Brocade DCX

 

2499-816 is SAN768B-2 = Brocade DCX-8510 16G Platform

 

the port in question what type of SFP+ fit ?

 

have you tried to use 8Gb SFP+

 

 

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎10-08-2012

Re: host migration between SAN768B switches.

Hi Antonio

 

all ports on the new switch are 16GB. I can't do this test there.

 

cheers

Brocade Moderator
Posts: 300
Registered: ‎08-31-2009

Re: host migration between SAN768B switches.

Clear stats of the 2 ports or statsclear and do portshow and portstatsshow of those 2 ports few minutes after.

Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.