Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-28-2010

fillword for 8G port on DCX

Did any one configure fillword for 8G port on DCX? If yes, can you post details as for what purpose you have configured. What happens, if it is not configured ? Any other useful information.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: fillword for 8G port on DCX

Yes i did, most of will config the fillword on 8g platform (Condor2 Golden Eye2).

Try help portcfgfillword in a cli session with your switch for an explination or google portcfgfillword for reasons why and what happens if you dont.

The 16G platform (Condor3) doesn't support this command as it autosets the right primitives.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-17-2003

Re: fillword for 8G port on DCX

The use of fillword on 8G depends on the type of device connected to the port. Where most devices work fine with the default setting of 0, some devices require other settings of the fillword-paramater. These requirements come from the manuals of these devices themselves. For example, the HP Flexfabric 8Gb modules require fillword mode 3 (-aa-then-ia; If ARBFF/ARBFF failed, then do IDLE/ARBFF). When configured wrong the port comes up but the performance is dramatically bad.

When operation the same port in 4Gb or slower, the fillword settings does not matter, regardless of the attached device. The fillword setting only applies to 8Gb capable ports running at 8Gb.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-02-2007

Re: fillword for 8G port on DCX

In my environment, we were having issues with our IBM SAN equipment logging into switches when the fill word was set to 0.  After setting it to 3, everything was able to log in with no problems.

Our standard, going forward, is to set all the fill words to 3.  We run a script after our code upgrade that changes all the ports.

Regular Contributor
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎11-24-2009

Re: fillword for 8G port on DCX

Hi rameshk,

the most common pattern for portCfgFillWord misconfiguration is "running 8G, unstable link or No_Sync, rapidly increasing enc_out/bad_os, but works fine if speed is fixed to 4G".

Industry best practice is to set portCfgFillWord mode 3 (ARB-ARB then IDLE/ARB) although some earlier 8G devices would require mode 0.

For more details please refer to Link Initialization and Fill Word Primitive Configuration brief (it's Brocade document but I only found it on HP web site): http://h30499.www3.hp.com/hpeb/attachments/hpeb/bladescategory04/859/1/FOS%208G%20Link%20Init%20Fillword%20Behavior%20v1.pdf

Condor 3 ASIC detects proper fill word mode automatically hence portCfgFillWord command is not applicable on 16G platforms.

Hope this helps,

Linar

Regular Contributor
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎11-24-2009

Re: fillword for 8G port on DCX

Also, portCfgFillWord is only applicable to ports running at 8G. For 1G/2G/4G links this parameter is not required as well.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook