Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-21-2012

fabric to access gateway

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

On my core fc switch ( ds_5300 ) I have several blade switches connected which are in access gateway mode:

DS_5300B_GORNJI:admin> switchshow
switchName:     DS_5300B_GORNJI
switchType:     64.3
switchState:    Online
switchMode:     Native
switchRole:     Principal
DS_5300B_GORNJI:admin> agshow
Worldwide Name            Ports   Enet IP Addr    Firmware                        Local/Remote   Name
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
10:00:00:05:1e:86:1c:1c    24     xxx.yyy.zzz.159   v6.1.0                         local          BL_LIJEVI
10:00:00:05:33:bd:a8:5b    24     xxx.yyy.zzz.206   v6.4.1a                        local          bl2gornji


Accidently I attached new blade fc switch before chaangind switch mode, so this switch now build fabric with original one, and even have some inter fabrics zone:

DS_5300B_GORNJI:admin> fabricshow
Switch ID   Worldwide Name           Enet IP Addr    FC IP Addr      Name
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
  1: fffc01 10:00:00:05:1e:77:93:b2 xxx.yyy.zzz.141  0.0.0.0        >"DS_5300B_GORNJI"
  2: fffc02 10:00:00:27:f8:da:3d:d1 xxx.yyy.zzz.227  0.0.0.0         "swd77"


I need to remove swd77 from fabric, change mode to access gateway, and connect to core switch.
Are following steps correct?

1. remove interfabrics zones from config

2. phisicaly disconnect both cables between DS_5300B_GORNJI and swd77

3. swd77 > switchdisable

4. swd77> ag --modeenable

5. after reboot check if switch is in ag mode

6. connect swd77 to DS_5300B_GORNJI

7. port wwv from swd77 should be visible after that on DS_5300B_GORNJI

8. with ag --mapadd connect virtual ports to phisical port

 

Regards

 

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: fabric to access gateway

Hi,

 

The procedure is correct but I would change some steps:

 

  • There is no need to remove the zones (provided that you created them based on the WWN).
  • Instead of phisically removing the cables, you can just disable them on the 5300 end and re-enable them afterwards.

 

Rgds,

Felipe

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-21-2012

Re: fabric to access gateway

on 5300 I have:

DS_5300B_GORNJI:admin> switchshow |grep swd77
 11  11   010b00   id    N4   Online      FC  E-Port  10:00:00:27:f8:da:3d:d1 "swd77"
 63  63   013f00   id    N8   Online      FC  E-Port  10:00:00:27:f8:da:3d:d1 "swd77" (downstream)

so two cables attached between them. First port to disable will be port 11, and second port 63 which will cause that swd77 leave fabric?

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: fabric to access gateway

that looks ok to me.

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-21-2012

Re: fabric to access gateway

and one more:

When I do:

swd77 > switchdisable

will this leave my ssh connection up to be able to resume with rest of commands?

Does switchdisable disable only fc ports or eth port to?

 

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: fabric to access gateway

just the FC part gets disabled, the ethernet one remains active.

 

rgds

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook