Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-19-2008

connecting Brocade 5100 to McData 4416/4314s?

Hi all,

Im having no luck with getting zoning working between these two switches. We have historically used the 4416s and 4413s in the back of our Dell chassis - which have been working fine with our current McData Sphereon 4500 'core' switches. We have now bought two new Brocade 5100 (badged as HP Storageworks 8/40s) but despite my best efforts, I cannot send zoning information from the 5100 (which is the principal switch) to the McData's (btw, in our test environment, I only have 1x 5100 connected to 1x 4416.)

The McData's 4416s are currently running :

SystemDescription   McDATA 4416

WorldWideName       10:00:08:00:88:e0:64:32
ActiveSWVersion     V5.2.3.16.0

DiagnosticsStatus   Passed
LicensedExternalPorts 4
LicensedInternalPorts 8

The 5100 are running 6.3.0b

I have set both switches to be in McData Fabric mode - 4416 has domain id 4 and 5100 domain id 7. The E-port seems to be 'green' on both switches and there are no obvious errors on the McData.

on the log of the 5100s I am getting a lot of these:

Wed Nov 25 2009 14:04:21 GMT+00:00 Information essd0: RTWR retry 64 to domain 4, iu_data 31000000 Switch 15053 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 14:03:10 GMT+00:00 Information essd0: RTWR retry 60 to domain 4, iu_data 31000000 Switch 15052 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 14:03:04 GMT+00:00 Information msd0: RTWR retry 28 to domain 4, iu_data 1000000 Switch 15051 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 14:01:59 GMT+00:00 Information essd0: RTWR retry 56 to domain 4, iu_data 31000000 Switch 15050 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 14:00:48 GMT+00:00 Information essd0: RTWR retry 52 to domain 4, iu_data 31000000 Switch 15049 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 14:00:33 GMT+00:00 Information msd0: RTWR retry 24 to domain 4, iu_data 1000000 Switch 15048 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 13:59:45 GMT+00:00 Information rcsd0: RTWR retry 8 to domain 4, iu_data 78000000 Switch 15047 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 13:59:37 GMT+00:00 Information essd0: RTWR retry 48 to domain 4, iu_data 31000000 Switch 15046 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 13:58:25 GMT+00:00 Information essd0: RTWR retry 44 to domain 4, iu_data 31000000 Switch 15045 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 13:58:02 GMT+00:00 Information msd0: RTWR retry 20 to domain 4, iu_data 1000000 Switch 15044 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 13:57:14 GMT+00:00 Information essd0: RTWR retry 40 to domain 4, iu_data 31000000 Switch 15043 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 13:56:02 GMT+00:00 Information essd0: RTWR retry 36 to domain 4, iu_data 31000000 Switch 15042 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 13:55:30 GMT+00:00 Information msd0: RTWR retry 16 to domain 4, iu_data 1000000 Switch 15041 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 13:54:50 GMT+00:00 Information essd0: RTWR retry 32 to domain 4, iu_data 31000000 Switch 15040 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 13:53:39 GMT+00:00 Information essd0: RTWR retry 28 to domain 4, iu_data 31000000 Switch 15039 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 13:53:00 GMT+00:00 Information msd0: RTWR retry 12 to domain 4, iu_data 1000000 Switch 15038 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 13:52:28 GMT+00:00 Information essd0: RTWR retry 24 to domain 4, iu_data 31000000 Switch 15037 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 13:51:17 GMT+00:00 Information essd0: RTWR retry 20 to domain 4, iu_data 31000000 Switch 15036 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 13:50:29 GMT+00:00 Information msd0: RTWR retry 8 to domain 4, iu_data 1000000 Switch 15035 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 13:50:06 GMT+00:00 Information essd0: RTWR retry 16 to domain 4, iu_data 31000000 Switch 15034 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 13:48:56 GMT+00:00 Information essd0: RTWR retry 12 to domain 4, iu_data 31000000 Switch 15033 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2
Wed Nov 25 2009 13:47:45 GMT+00:00 Information essd0: RTWR retry 8 to domain 4, iu_data 31000000 Switch 15032 1 RTWR-1003 sansw2

HELP!!!! (thanks!)

External Moderator
Posts: 5,046
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: connecting Brocade 5100 to McData 4416/4314s?

jagged,

McDATA 4416 and 4314 are genuine QLogic switch and not longer supported by Brocade.

However, with a lot of patience and a lot of experience, you can both build into a Brocade fabric.

See this threads here, and check by QLogic for exact model number.

http://community.brocade.com/home/message/7800#7800

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-19-2008

Re: connecting Brocade 5100 to McData 4416/4314s?

unfortunately I didnt have any luck with the link you sent me -

Is there anything else I could look into to get these working? (URLs/ firmware/ etc)

External Moderator
Posts: 5,046
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: connecting Brocade 5100 to McData 4416/4314s?

the link work fine,

what are the exact Part Number from both Blade switch ?

are this switch in production environment's ?

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-19-2008

Re: connecting Brocade 5100 to McData 4416/4314s?

Hi,

yep - the link works fine but I cannot find any reference to either McData 4416s or 4314.

I have taken apart the McData modules and can see that the hardware inside (the PCB etc) has the QLogic name printed on it, but I cannot see any QLogic ID/part no.

I have asked Qlogic support if they can provide the model numbers of the hardware used in the McData modules, but havent heard anything back yet.

We currently have 2 Dell 1855 Chassis (with 4416 and 4314 switches) still in our production environment - happily connected to McData Sphereon 4500 'core' fibre switches. In our test environment I have an empty Dell chassis with 1 x McData 4416 connecting to 1 x Brocade 5100

Our issue is that we have bought new Brocade 5100s and would like to obsolete the 4500s and migrate to the Brocade 5100 - but only if I can get ISL/Zoning information working between the 5100s and the 4314/4416s

hope this clarifies things.

Im close to giving up on this and presuming that because the 4416/4314s are so old, that ISL and Zoning will never work properly...hopefully not though

External Moderator
Posts: 5,046
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: connecting Brocade 5100 to McData 4416/4314s?

--->>> Im close to giving up on this and presuming that because the 4416/4314s are so old, that ISL and Zoning will never work properly...hopefully not though

not sure....

--->>>In our test environment I have an empty Dell chassis with 1 x McData 4416 connecting to 1 x Brocade 5100

Are you able to create a Remote connection to a test env. example Windows Server remote desktop ?

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-19-2008

Re: connecting Brocade 5100 to McData 4416/4314s?

Hi Antonio,

its been a real struggle to get the Brocades to talk to the 4416 (i never even tried the 4314s). The fabric was very unstable - and kept giving me issues when trying to push zoning config out to the other switches. This was only in our test environment - so there was no way that I could allow these issues in our production environment. However, we have now come to the conclusion that we will have to keep our Sphereon 4500s in place until we can obsolete the Dell chassis with the McData 4416 and 4314 modules in.

I have come across another problem though - wonder if you can suggest any workarounds....

Currently in our 'newly expanded' fabric, we have the Brocade 5100, Sphereon 4500, 1 x HP 8/24c SAN Switch (Brocade), 1 x McData 4416 and 2 x McData 4314s - all are operating in McData Open Fabric mode (interop mode 3 on the Brocade) and the fabric seems stable!. The problem is that the Brocade 5100 has taken over principal switch role from the Sphereon 4500, but I cannot seem to add a WWN to an existing zone on the Brocade.

Please see below:

sansw2:FID128:admin> fabricshow
Switch ID   Worldwide Name           Enet IP Addr    FC IP Addr      Name
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
97: fffc61 10:00:08:00:88:03:64:cc 10.40.7.4       0.0.0.0         "San-core-1-BLU"                           <-----Sphereon 4500
98: fffc62 10:00:00:05:1e:bd:32:ba 172.16.250.71   0.0.0.0        >"sansw2"                                   <-----Brocade 5100
99: fffc63 10:00:08:00:88:e0:64:2c 172.16.250.103  0.0.0.0         "Blade-B4-io3-BLU"                    <-----McData 4416
100: fffc64 10:00:08:00:88:e0:5a:37 172.16.250.106  0.0.0.0         "blade-B3-io3-BLU"                   <-----McData 4314
101: fffc65 10:00:08:00:88:e0:59:ef 172.16.250.108  0.0.0.0         "Blade-B6-io3-BLU"                    <-----McData 4314
102: fffc66 10:00:00:05:1e:b3:89:c3 172.16.250.86   0.0.0.0         "sansw-b2m4"                            <-----HP 8/24c SAN Switch (Brocade)

The Fabric has 6 switches

sansw2:FID128:admin> zoneshow
Defined configuration:
no configuration defined

Effective configuration:
cfg:   ACTIVE_ZONE_SET
zone:  DATACORE_APPSERVERS
                21:00:00:13:72:ff:13:62
                21:00:00:13:72:ff:2d:d2
                21:00:00:1b:32:02:a2:1b
                21:00:00:1b:32:09:8a:f7
                21:00:00:1b:32:0f:75:ef
                21:00:00:1b:32:0f:7c:ef
                21:00:00:1b:32:14:1d:af
                21:00:00:1b:32:1f:d6:56
                21:00:00:e0:8b:9a:de:ae
                21:00:00:e0:8b:9b:0d:6a
                21:00:00:e0:8b:9b:47:3f
                21:00:00:1b:32:14:a3:ae
                21:00:00:1b:32:84:5c:0c
                21:00:00:e0:8b:8d:63:ee
                21:00:00:13:72:ff:40:34
                21:00:00:e0:8b:8d:6f:ed
                21:00:00:e0:8b:8d:bd:ec
                21:00:00:e0:8b:8d:43:ee
                21:00:00:e0:8b:8d:a7:ec
                21:00:00:e0:8b:8d:22:ee
                21:00:00:13:72:ff:27:ee
                21:00:00:13:72:ff:13:6a
                21:00:00:13:72:ff:27:88
                21:00:00:e0:8b:87:5e:96
                21:00:00:e0:8b:8d:cc:ee
                21:01:00:e0:8b:aa:34:52
                21:00:00:e0:8b:8d:b4:f1
                21:00:00:14:22:73:f7:2a
                21:00:00:e0:8b:8d:d3:ec
zone:  DATACORE_STORAGE_CRONUS
                20:70:00:c0:ff:d5:6a:ed
                21:00:00:1b:32:1f:78:56
                21:78:00:c0:ff:d5:6a:ed
zone:  DATACORE_STORAGE_RHEA
                20:78:00:c0:ff:d7:13:c4
                21:00:00:1b:32:1e:2b:b7
                21:70:00:c0:ff:d7:13:c4
zone:  TPR-BAK01_ADIC
                21:01:00:e0:8b:aa:34:52
                50:03:08:c1:69:78:08:24
zone:  TPR-BAK01_Sepaton
                10:00:00:06:8d:00:47:41
                21:01:00:e0:8b:aa:34:52

sansw2:FID128:admin> zoneadd "DATACORE_APPSERVERS", "50:01:43:80:01:45:f8:be"
Error: This command cannot be executed in McDATA Open Fabric mode

I am confused about the role of the principal switch - I thought that all zoning had to be configured from the principal switch. Am I wrong? If I am wrong, can I still do the zoning (adding WWNs) on the Sphereon, even if it is not principal? Or is there some command I can use on the Brocade instead of 'zoneadd'?

Many Thanks,

Trevor

External Moderator
Posts: 5,046
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: connecting Brocade 5100 to McData 4416/4314s?

..//RECS.JPG

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook