Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-24-2008

add new switch to a existing SAN with lower WWN | Principal Selection Mode is Disable.

Dear expert,

 

We are planning to add new switch to a existing SAN this evening!


Current we have one DCX were Principal Selection Mode is Disable.
The new switch has a lower WWN


We want to for come the new switch will be the principle switch?

I can use some advice here as the is a grey area!

 

1. Do we need to enable on the new switch fabricprincipal -enable –p 0x02 –f to enable the mode and also assign to a higher priority
2. Do we need to enable on the existing production switch fabricprincipal -enable –p 0x01 –f to enable the mode and also assign to a lowest priority
3. or ......?

 

Existing switch production SAN
C4NLAMSY301:FID128:admin> fabricprincipal
Principal Selection Mode: Disable
Principal Switch Selection Priority: 0

C4NLAMSY301:FID128:admin> fabricshow
Switch ID Worldwide Name Enet IP Addr FC IP Addr Name
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
5: fffc05 10:00:00:05:1e:6b:2e:00 10.155.140.122 0.0.0.0 >"C4NLAMSY301"
160: fffca0 50:00:51:e6:b2:e0:1e:0a 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 "fcr_fd_160"

The Fabric has 2 switches
Fabric Name: TSNL_AMS_H1_0

 

New switch connected
C4NLAMSY003:FID128:admin> fabricprincipal --show
Principal Selection Mode: Disable
Principal Switch Selection Priority: 0
C4NLAMSY003:FID128:admin>

C4NLAMSY003:FID128:admin> fabricshow
Switch ID Worldwide Name Enet IP Addr FC IP Addr Name
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
1: fffc01 10:00:00:05:33:62:c1:00 10.155.140.102 0.0.0.0 >"C4NLAMSY003"
2: fffc02 50:00:53:36:2c:2c:1f:02 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 "fcr_xd_2_11"
160: fffca0 50:00:53:36:2c:10:1e:0a 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 "fcr_fd_160"

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: add new switch to a existing SAN with lower WWN | Principal Selection Mode is Disable.

Hi @tHEkOOY

 

whatever is you real name.

 

->Current we have one DCX were Principal Selection Mode is Disable.

 

I assume the DCX is Core Switch.

 

now you want to add:

 

->The new switch has a lower WWN

 

the primary question is, is this New Switch Core or EDGE Switch ?

 

as per may experience - and this is just my opinion - I'm not a frieed to set whatever Core or EDGE as forced principal.

 

but if you want to force a switch in the fabric as principal, is recommended to do this operation on Core Switch.

 

 

TechHelp24
Brocade Moderator
Posts: 304
Registered: ‎03-29-2011

Re: add new switch to a existing SAN with lower WWN | Principal Selection Mode is Disable.

Hi John,

 

long time no see - I would, it all depends on how you add the your next, switch, but to ensure that the new switch is principal, i would

 

- fabricprincipal --enable -p 01 ## on new switch

 

to flag this switch as principal (highest priority). And after the merge, I would the, if necessary  

 

- fabricprincipal -f ## on new switch

 

to force a fabric build (BF) and re-election of the principal switch. You do not need change the existing switch.




If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution".


Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.