Fibre Channel (SAN)

New Contributor

Zoning

my company has procured Broacade Fabric Switch in 2010 and as i am new to this broacade switch and also to the company.

The brocade switch is connected to netapp san, Now i am supposed to do zoning and connect it to Vmware ESXi servers.

I could somehow tried to login to brocade switch through the managment port. please do guide me the procedure or screenshots to do zoning and connect it to esxi servers. GUI method is what  i am prefering as i am new to this switch.

Regular Contributor

Re: Zoning

Im guessing you run FOS6 on the switch.

http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c01415719.pdf chapter 20 page 387 zoning is what you are looking for.

Frequent Contributor

[ Edited ]

first, get a documentation what is attached to which port on the switch(es)
 once that is done, open the gui of the switch with the newly attached esxi servers, have the docu ready too

after opening the gui, click on "zone admin" left side menu

pic 01

once the zone administration window opens press "new alias" see arrow

pic 02

after that a new window opens, where you can enter the new alias for the esxi host connetect to a certain port.

pic 03

sooo now the first important part, that might see at the first point useless, but it will prove handy once you need to troubleshoot.

use the following nomenclature to create your alias

A_LOC_SWNAME_PID_LOC_HOSTNAME

A_ stands for alias, this is needed just incase you once will use CLI and grep for something, to distinguish between zones and alias names

LOC1_ location or systemroom name, max. 2-3 letters, where the switch is located at.

SWNAME_ name of the switch

PIC_ portindex

LOC2_ location or systemroom name, max. 2-3 letters, where the host is located at.

HOSTNAME_ name of the connected host

in the next pic you can see an example

after you entered a name for your newly attached host you comit this entry by pressing on "OK"

pic 03a