Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎08-31-2009

Zoning transaction aborted - Bad Zone Config. .

This is the configuration

brocade2:admin> fabricshow
Switch ID   Worldwide Name           Enet IP Addr    FC IP Addr      Name
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
98: fffc62 10:00:00:05:1e:04:df:1d xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 0.0.0.0        >"brocade2" --> 200e (SWITCH TYPE 34) version 5.2.0b
101: fffc65 10:00:00:c0:dd:0d:11:c4 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 0.0.0.0         "FCSM4Gb237" --> QLOGIC 4GB fIBER CHannel Switch module for IBM Blade center - version 5.5.2.5.0
103: fffc67 10:00:00:05:1e:bf:e0:93 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx  0.0.0.0         "EMC_FCSW4" --> Switch Type 71.2 version v6.1.0j

The Fabric has 3 switches

When creating a zone we get the following errors (from "Events":

Message ID:
HTTP-1003

Messages:
Zoning transaction initiated by user: admin, Role: admin could not be completet successfully - Zoning transaction aborted - Bad transaction

Message ID:
Zone-1027

Message:
Zoning transaction aborted - Bad Zone Config. .

Thanks

Amir

Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: Zoning transaction aborted - Bad Zone Config. .

The Zoning Transaction was aborted due to a variety of potential errors: zone merge, zone config
change, bad zone configuration, or other errors. The specific reason is displayed in the error message.

In yourcase try through telnet. and also show me the output of cfgshow.

External Moderator
Posts: 5,029
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Zoning transaction aborted - Bad Zone Config. .

--->>> CHannel Switch module for IBM Blade center - version 5.5.2.5.0

QLogic Blade Switches / McDATA Blade Swicthes, are not longer supported and cannot Operate whit FOS 6.x

If you are satisfied with the responses please mark as 'Answered'.
If not, just let me know I can see to get more info.
I would appreciated if you rate the threads.

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎08-31-2009

Re: Zoning transaction aborted - Bad Zone Config. .

Hi,

If I didn't said it before, I get the error when I'm trying to do "Save Config" operation.

So the QLOGIC switch is the reason we get the error?

Does it mean that we won't be able to create new zones & aliases untill we'll replace the switch?\

External Moderator
Posts: 5,029
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Zoning transaction aborted - Bad Zone Config. .

Hi amirs,

as mentioned in my preview Post, this Blade Switches / Fimrware are not longer supported by FOX 6.x but can operate whit Old v.5.x FOS.

A new Firmware is available by QLogic v5.5.2.10 see RN is attached.

Is the Blade Genuine QLogic ( QLogic WWN ) or Mcdata OEM ( McDATA WWN ) ?

Test whit this new FW, problable this work whit NEW FOS release, but I'm not sure, i don't have such Hardware or access and cannot test it.

BTW, to avoid confusion, can you please close the second one Threads ?

thank you.

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎08-31-2009

Re: Zoning transaction aborted - Bad Zone Config. .

Hi,

This is QLOGIC Oem - It was written in the Switch type filed in this switch's gui.

Just to make sure I understand you correctly -

1. Version 6 of the brocade & QLOGIC blades are not supported together - it might be the reason from the problem.



2. You said: "6.x but can operate whit Old v.5.x FOS"

Did you mean the QLOGIC FOS or Brocade FOS?

BTW, about closing the second thread, I didn't find where do I close it.







External Moderator
Posts: 5,029
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Zoning transaction aborted - Bad Zone Config. .

--->>>Just to make sure I understand you correctly -

1. Version 6 of the brocade & QLOGIC blades are not supported together - it might be the reason from the problem

Yes, this is the problem.

--->>> 2. You said: "6.x but can operate whit Old v.5.x FOS"

Did you mean the QLOGIC FOS or Brocade FOS?

No, i want to say in this case, McDATA / QLogic Blade can operate with FOS 5.x, but cannot operate whit FOS 6.

FOS Compatibility - in this case - betwen v5.2.0b. and v6.1.0j is another story and are supported and certified.

--->>> BTW, about closing the second thread, I didn't find where do I close it.

Is very simple, go to all the Threads, mark First as helpful or correct and then as Answered.

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎08-31-2009

Re: Zoning transaction aborted - Bad Zone Config. .

OK, Thanks!

Where could I find this information by myself?

FOS 6 documentation ?

It's interesting me how to get to such issues

External Moderator
Posts: 5,029
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Zoning transaction aborted - Bad Zone Config. .

Hi amirs,

I don't have any kind of interest to post here wrong Info.

--->>>Where could I find this information by myself?

I Have this DOC, and I'm search in the meantime i post here all the answer, but unfortunately cannot find it in all my 2 MIO Files....

when i have found it will upload here

--->>> It's interesting me how to get to such issues

they can trust me...

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 5,029
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Zoning transaction aborted - Bad Zone Config. .

check e-mail, you have post.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook