Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-26-2010

Why is my trunk not forming between new 8510-8B and DCX-4S?

Can someone please explain why my trunk is not forming between a new 8510-8B (with FC8-48E blades) and DCX-4S (with FC8-48 blades) ?

Sites are connected through DWDM

 

 

 

New 8510-8B:

BL_KV_BASE_1:FID1:admin> trunkshow
  1:  0-> 31 10:00:00:05:33:23:ff:07  10 deskew 15 MASTER

  2:  1-> 30 10:00:00:05:33:23:ff:07  10 deskew 15 MASTER

 

BL_KV_BASE_1:FID1:admin> portcfgshow

Ports of Slot 1         0   1
----------------------+---+---
Speed                  4G  4G
AL_PA Offset 13        ..  ..
Trunk Port             ON  ON
Long Distance          LS  LS
VC Link Init           ..  ..
Locked L_Port          ..  ..
Locked G_Port          ON  ON
Disabled E_Port        ..  ..
Locked E_Port          ..  ..
ISL R_RDY Mode         ..  ..
RSCN Suppressed        ..  ..
Persistent Disable     ..  ..
LOS TOV enable         ..  ..
NPIV capability        ON  ON
NPIV PP Limit          126 126
QOS E_Port             ..  ..
EX Port                ..  ..
Mirror Port            ..  ..
Rate Limit             ..  ..
Credit Recovery        ..  ..
Fport Buffers          ..  ..
Port Auto Disable      ..  ..
CSCTL mode             ..  ..
Fault Delay             0   0

 

BL_KV_BASE_1:FID1:admin> switchshow
switchName:     BL_KV_BASE_1
switchType:     120.3
switchState:    Online
switchMode:     Native
switchRole:     Subordinate
switchDomain:   1
switchId:       fffc01
switchWwn:      10:00:00:27:f8:74:e2:02
zoning:         OFF
switchBeacon:   OFF
FC Router:      ON
LS Attributes:  [FID: 1, Base Switch: Yes, Default Switch: No, Address Mode 0]

Index Slot Port Address Media  Speed  State       Proto
=======================================================
   0    1    0   01ffc0   id     4G   Online      FC  LS E-Port  10:00:00:05:33:23:ff:07 "BL_KK4_BASE_1" (Trunk master)
   1    1    1   01ff80   id     4G   Online      FC  LS E-Port  10:00:00:05:33:23:ff:07 "BL_KK4_BASE_1" (Trunk master)

 ...

 

 

 

DCX4S:

BL_KK4_BASE_1:FID1:admin> trunkshow
...

  2: 30->  1 10:00:00:27:f8:74:e2:02   1 deskew 15 MASTER

  3: 31->  0 10:00:00:27:f8:74:e2:02   1 deskew 15 MASTER

....

 

BL_KK4_BASE_1:FID1:admin> portcfgshow
... 

Ports of Slot 1        30  31  35
----------------------+---+---+---
Speed                  4G  4G  AN
Fill Word(On Active)    0   0   0
Fill Word(Current)      0   0   0
AL_PA Offset 13        ..  ..  ..
Trunk Port             ON  ON  ON
Long Distance          LS  LS  ..
VC Link Init           ..  ..  ..
Locked L_Port          ..  ..  ..
Locked G_Port          ON  ON  ON
Disabled E_Port        ..  ..  ..
Locked E_Port          ..  ..  ..
ISL R_RDY Mode         ..  ..  ..
RSCN Suppressed        ..  ..  ..
Persistent Disable     ..  ..  ..
LOS TOV enable         ..  ..  ..
NPIV capability        ON  ON  ON
NPIV PP Limit          126 126 126
QOS E_Port             ..  ..  AE
EX Port                ..  ..  ON
Mirror Port            ..  ..  ..
Rate Limit             ..  ..  ..
Credit Recovery        ..  ..  ON
Fport Buffers          ..  ..  ..
Port Auto Disable      ..  ..  ..
CSCTL mode             ..  ..  ..
Fault Delay             0   0   0

....

 

BL_KK4_BASE_1:FID1:admin> switchshow
switchName:     BL_KK4_BASE_1
switchType:     77.3
switchState:    Online
switchMode:     Native
switchRole:     Subordinate
switchDomain:   10
switchId:       fffc0a
switchWwn:      10:00:00:05:33:23:ff:07
zoning:         OFF
switchBeacon:   OFF
FC Router:      ON
LS Attributes:  [FID: 1, Base Switch: Yes, Default Switch: No, Address Mode 0]

Index Slot Port Address Media  Speed  State       Proto
=======================================================
...

  30    1   30   0af840   id     4G   Online      FC  LS E-Port  10:00:00:27:f8:74:e2:02 "BL_KV_BASE_1" (Trunk master)
  31    1   31   0af800   id     4G   Online      FC  LS E-Port  10:00:00:27:f8:74:e2:02 "BL_KV_BASE_1" (Trunk master)
 ...

 

As far as I can see the ports are in correct port_groups.

 

Any advice and/or explainating is very welcome!

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-17-2008

Re: Why is my trunk not forming between new 8510-8B and DCX-4S?

You should find the answer using

DCX8510:>trunkdebug 0 1

DCX-4S:>trunkdebug 30 31

 

If not look at outputs from:

DCX8510:>portcfgshow 0&&portcfgshow 1

DCX-4S:>portcfgshow 30&&portcfgshow 31

Check longdistance settings.

 

Regards,

Robert

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎01-28-2010

Re: Why is my trunk not forming between new 8510-8B and DCX-4S?

do you have the trunking license installed on both switches, yeah stupid question but nevertheless, do you?

 

why are the trunkports locked to g ports?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-22-2014

Re: Why is my trunk not forming between new 8510-8B and DCX-4S?

Hi Robert_J,

 

Thanks for replying.

 

I did check the trunkdebug command and it gives me the following reasons:

 

8510

BL_KV_BASE_1:FID1:admin> trunkdebug 0 1
port 0 and 1 can't trunk due to one of the following reasons:
ports are not same speed or valid speed
ports are not same long distance mode
local or remote ports are not in same port group
difference between links length is greater than allowed

 

I have checked all the reasons several times;

 

- ports set fixed on 4G due to DWDM being 4G

- all 4 (2x85010, 2xDCX4s) ports configured as 'portcfglongdistance x/x ls 0 50'

- 8510 port 0,1 should be some portgroup AND dcx port 30,31 should in same portgroup

- The length differrence should be the issue either:

  

BL_KV_BASE_1:FID1:admin> trunkshow
  1:  0-> 31 10:00:00:05:33:23:ff:07  10 deskew 15 MASTER

  2:  1-> 30 10:00:00:05:33:23:ff:07  10 deskew 15 MASTER

 

 

the portcfgshow's are in the origional post and the only thing i see different is that the dcx has this in the output:

Fill Word(On Active)      0(Idle-Idle)
Fill Word(Current)        0(Idle-Idle)

when i try to set the fillword on the 8510's it'll tell me thats not supported as the fillword setting is only for the 8g models?

 

thanks

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-22-2014

Re: Why is my trunk not forming between new 8510-8B and DCX-4S?

Hi Doges,

 

Thanks for the reply.

 

We have the trunking license is in place on all directors. It comes with the enterprise bundle I think.

 

The DCX4s has several working trunks; and the 8510's have several working trunks to some edge switches. Some way or the other this one just won't build the trunk

 

I locked the speed to 4G on the ISL ports as the DWDM line is 4G; You referrening to that ''g"?

I just wanted to make sure there was no speed mismatch etc

 

Thanks

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎01-28-2010

Re: Why is my trunk not forming between new 8510-8B and DCX-4S?

nope i am not referring to the g on the speed thingy i do referr to the portcfgshow output where it says that the ports attached to the other device are in g port status

 

Locked G_Port          ON  ON  ON

 

any reason for this?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-22-2014

Re: Why is my trunk not forming between new 8510-8B and DCX-4S?

Hi Doges,

 

No reason for this; The switch sets this by default during the fabric initialization process, right?

 

On page 32 I found some info as I was not familair with it: http://www.brocade.com/downloads/documents/certification_study_tools/8G-BCFP-090408.pdf

 

Thanks for the responds 

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎01-28-2010

Re: Why is my trunk not forming between new 8510-8B and DCX-4S?

g port it is when the port can´t decide/gets stuck if he can negotiate N or E port with the other side.

 

 

 

http://www.brocade.com/downloads/documents/certification_study_tools/BCFA_Nutshell.pdf

 

see

page 5

 

i out to lunch and we can talk later on this, but i would unlock the g ports on the two isl ports and see if they form a trunk afterwards

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-22-2014

Re: Why is my trunk not forming between new 8510-8B and DCX-4S?

Thanks again for the suggestion,

 

I also logged a case at our vendor to get this resolved. When I get the awnser I'll update this case.

 

Many thanks and hope you had a good lunch ;)

 

regards,

 

Luke

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎01-28-2010

Re: Why is my trunk not forming between new 8510-8B and DCX-4S?

yes! please let us know how it turned out.

 

 

for all the others that ask things on this forums,

 

it would also be much appreciated if others topics would at least get some end statment about what happend to the question, has the question been solved or any other information to it.

 

 

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook