Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎09-20-2007

Web inferface fails to initialize

I am running a Brocade 48000 with v5.2.0a fw. Java plugin version 1,4,2,8. When I launch the browser to connect to the switch's web interface I get an "Exception encountered...Cannot retrieve metaclass list" error after entering my login credentials (please see screenshot). I can no longer administer the switch via the web interface. Does anyone know what this means and how to correct it?

Thanks for any assistance....

Daryl

External Moderator
Posts: 5,027
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Web inferface fails to initialize

Daryl,

1.5.x is the correct Java release that support FOS 5.2 or higher.

Delete The Brocade Certificate from the Java Applet, unistall the 1.4 and Install 1.5

TechHelp24

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎09-20-2007

Re: Web inferface fails to initialize

TechHelp24, thanks for the quick reply. How do I do what you suggested?

External Moderator
Posts: 5,027
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Web inferface fails to initialize

In a Windows OS, Start > Settings > Control Panel > Java > in the Java TAB select Security and than click the Buttons Certificate....

Select here the Brocade ..... Certificate and Remove.

Close the Java Panel and Uninstall the old Java 1.4

Here the Download link latest Rel.

Java Runtime Environment (JRE) 6 Update 7

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎09-20-2007

Re: Web inferface fails to initialize

TechHelp24,

Sorry for any confusion. My Windows boxes are already running Java 1.6 and I can access the web interface on my other two 48000's fine. On the director, from a telnet session, the results of the httpcfgshow command are:

httpcfgshow
Current HTTP configuration
javaplugin.version = 1,4,2,8
javaplugin.homeURL =

This director been working fine until this morning. I have tried opening the web interface from several different Windows machines and they all get the same error. My other two 48000 directors and their web interface are working fine.

Is there some way to reinitialize the java RTE on the director?

External Moderator
Posts: 5,027
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Web inferface fails to initialize

--->>> Sorry for any confusion.

No problem. Test please follow.

In the Java > Networks Settings... > select "Direct Connection" OK and Apply.

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎09-20-2007

Re: Web inferface fails to initialize

TechHelp24,

I was able to get it working. From a telnet session I entered the command "configure" and said "Y" to the "http attributes" prompt. Then I disabled HTTP and saved the change. Re-issued the "configure" command and re-enabled HTTP. Now my browser can access the switch via the webtools interface.

Thanks for the help,

Daryl

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook