Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 168
Registered: ‎08-06-2003

Using SNMP with mrtg for performance monitoring (moved post)

Hello,

N/A
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-29-2003

Re: Using SNMP with mrtg for performance monitoring (moved post)

Are there any customers on this list using SNMP to monitormethods.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-10-2003

Re: Using SNMP with mrtg for performance monitoring (moved post)

stlucia46:help on installing mrtg you can get at: <A HREF="http://people.ee.ethz.ch/oetiker/webtools/mrtg/index-2.html" TARGET="_blank"><a class="jive-link-external" href="http://people.ee.ethz.ch/oetiker/webtools/mrtg/index-2.html">http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~oetiker/webtools/mrtg/index-2.htmlboslad

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-11-2003

Re: Using SNMP with mrtg for performance monitoring (moved post)

Has anyone used mrtg with sw12k? It is running with a sw2800 but i'm getting this errors with the sw12k:&lt;

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-02-2005

Re: Using SNMP with mrtg for performance monitoring (moved post)

Hi,Thanks...

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-02-2005

Re: Using SNMP with mrtg for performance monitoring (moved post)

I have found the answer. Problem is 32 bit integer limit. When I set the pooling interval 5 minutes, I'm measuring wrong values. After 32 bit integer limit of 4GB counter set itself to zero. On heavy load 5 minutes is enough to be set zero then small difference even negative port traffic meausuments.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-29-2003

Re: Using SNMP with mrtg for performance monitoring (moved post)

Hi all , it's possible setup mrtg for total troughput on the switch ? And how ? Please point me to some example.&lt;!graemlin::)&gt; .&lt;!graemlin::)&gt;&lt;!graemlin::p&gt;ublic@myswitch1:::::2 * 4 + 1.3.6.1.4.1.1588.2.1.1.1.6.2.1.12.2&#38;1.3.6.1.4.1.1588.2.1.1.1.6.2.1.11.2&lt;!graemlin::p&gt;ublic@myswitch1:::::2 * 4 Michal

Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-31-2003

Re: Using SNMP with mrtg for performance monitoring (moved post)

With respect to the 32-bit problem:Is there a way around this other than lower the interval to 1 or 2 minutes?

Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-31-2003

Re: Using SNMP with mrtg for performance monitoring (moved post)

I have found 3 possible solutions to this:RxFrames = 1.3.6.1.4.1.1588.2.1.1.1.6.2.1.14.1

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-02-2005

Re: Using SNMP with mrtg for performance monitoring (moved post)

What is the difference? TX/RX Frames are also using 32 bir integer counters. I mean, in case of heavy load (on my system, it is possible to see 110 MB/sec values on controller ports) 32 bir integer limit will be set to zero again. Most of the time 1 minute would be enough. To solve the problem we have to use a graphing tool that supports multiple polling interval times. Cacti will be supporting in 2-3 months. JFFNMS can use multiple polling intervals for the different devices, it works great. Whatever, as twilleat said, either small polling time or SNMPv2 variables(no support).

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook