Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-25-2013

Upgrade Brocade 300 Firmware

Which file do I download for a single Brocade 300 switch firmware upgrade?

 

 

Super Contributor
Posts: 445
Registered: ‎04-08-2009

Re: Upgrade Brocade 300 Firmware

Greetings ron_gipp

 

So it depends on what firmware level you are on and what you wish to upgrade to.  "If" you are sourcing your firmware download files from Brocade here are some general tips.  

 

  1. Log into MyBrocade
  2. Go to Downloads
  3. At the bottom, look for the drop down:  Download by:
  4. Select 'all operating systems'
  5. Select Fabric Operating System
  6. An example of the firmware would be "v7.2.1a.zip" (windows)
  7. An example of the firmware would be "v7.2.1a.gz" (linux)

Hope that helps.  

Regards,

Mike Eversole
Brocade Community Manager
Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Upgrade Brocade 300 Firmware

To clarify, Mike's suggestion requires you have an active support contract with Brocade directly.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-25-2013

Re: Upgrade Brocade 300 Firmware

Ok that's what I did, except I downloaded v7.1.0a.

 

My issue is that what firmwareDownload command is looking for is a release.plist file in the sub-directory of the path that's specified.

 

I download the Unix version.

 

I have many sub-directories with a SWDBnnn names.

 

I've tried to upgrade using these subdirectories.

 

I get one of 2 results.

 

One is saying it can't load firmware because it doesn't support this platform.

 

The other is failed to access pathname/release.plist file.

 

See both examples below.

 

Am I using correct syntax?

 

 

 

sw300_122:root> firmwareDownload
Server Name or IP Address: 172.20.102.89
User Name: root
File Name: /home/ron/v7.1/brd_unix/v7.1.0a/SWBD124
Network Protocol(1-auto-select, 2-FTP, 3-SCP, 4-SFTP) [1]: 3
Verifying if the public key authentication is available.Please wait ...
The public key authentication is not available.
Password:
Server IP: 172.20.102.89, Protocol IPv4
Checking system settings for firmwaredownload...
Cannot download the requested firmware because the firmware doesn't support this platform. Please enter another firmware path.

 

sw300_122:root> firmwareDownload
Server Name or IP Address: 172.20.102.89
User Name: root
File Name: /home/ron/v7.1/brd_unix/v7.1.0a/SWBD71
Network Protocol(1-auto-select, 2-FTP, 3-SCP, 4-SFTP) [1]: 3
Verifying if the public key authentication is available.Please wait ...
The public key authentication is not available.
Password:
Server IP: 172.20.102.89, Protocol IPv4
Checking system settings for firmwaredownload...
Failed to access scp://root:********@172.20.102.89//home/ron/v7.1/brd_unix/v7.1.0a/SWBD71/release.plist
The server is inaccessible or firmware path is invalid. Please make sure the server name or IP address, and the firmware path are valid, also the correct protocol and authentication are supported.

 

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Upgrade Brocade 300 Firmware

SWDnnn where nnn point to the switchtype in question are not ment to be given as download path as they contain only the switch specific components AFAIR

 

 

/home/ron/v7.1/brd_unix/v7.1.0a/ should be sufficient, or remap your ftp server so /home/ron/v7.1/brd_unix/v7.1.0a/ becomes / of your ftp server.

 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-25-2013

Re: Upgrade Brocade 300 Firmware

Well that worked fine.

 

Thank you.

 

That was the first directory I tried.

 

However I didn't have a trailing / at the end.

 

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-19-2012

Re: Upgrade Brocade 300 Firmware

Where can I find the FOS  version 7.2.1a? is not showing on "downloads" , it only shows up to 7.2.0a

Occasional Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-20-2016

Re: Upgrade Brocade 300 Firmware

The same issue I found with similar .. plist file not found or incorrect firmware;

 

For my case it was a firewall issue blocking other ports for ftp; 

 

ie. used a laptop directly tot eh service port / same vlan subnet with GMU ftp client on a W7 host 

and a repository of all of the firmware release as needed -- worked ( using a SSH session not WEb GUI )

 

A

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook