Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-02-2011

Unable to access Active CP after fastboot

DCX running 6.4.0c.

My issue started as I was having problems getting a firmwaredownload to finish.  I was unable to ping the standby CP address after multiple attempts of changing the IP and validating the network.  I read another post here that said their solution was to try a fastboot.  As this is not yet in full production I did that.  Once I completed the fastboot, the standby CP began to ping, but the Active CP and the Chassis IP addresses do not ping any longer.  Thinking that the Active CP didn't come back up I checked the hashow output, and it shows in a fully sync'd state:

PRDLTC1DCX1:FID128:admin> hashow
Local CP (Slot 7, CP1): Standby
Remote CP (Slot 6, CP0): Active
HA enabled, Heartbeat Up, HA State synchronized

I also looked at the header info from the hadump command and all the IP addresses show to be valid still:

PRDLTC1DCX1:FID128:admin> hadump | more
---------------------------------------
TIME_STAMP: Nov 29 21:04:23.990593
---------------------------------------
Local CP (Slot 7, CP1): Standby
Remote CP (Slot 6, CP0): Active
HA enabled, Heartbeat Up, HA State synchronized

CHASSIS
Ethernet IP Address: 10.26.2.63
Ethernet Subnetmask: 255.255.254.0

CP0
Ethernet IP Address: 10.26.2.60
Ethernet Subnetmask: 255.255.254.0
Host Name: cp0
Gateway IP Address: 10.26.2.1

CP1
Ethernet IP Address: 10.26.2.61
Ethernet Subnetmask: 255.255.254.0
Host Name: cp1
Gateway IP Address: 10.26.2.1

Backplane IP address of CP0 : 10.0.0.5
Backplane IP address of CP1 : 10.0.0.6
IPv6 Autoconfiguration Enabled: Yes
Local IPv6 Addresses:
IPv6 Gateways:

So now I'm stuck in a situation where I'm unable to get into the Primary CP, but don't have the command set in the Standby CP to really do anything.  Is there a way to get past this?

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Unable to access Active CP after fastboot

Try logging on onto the standby cp as root.

Then ssh to cp6_eth1.

This should get you on the active CP

Now change whatever need to be done to get back online.

Super Contributor
Posts: 635
Registered: ‎04-12-2010

Re: Unable to access Active CP after fastboot

Hi,

if you can login into the standby CP and you have no ethernet connection to the active CP you can try to login via backplan IP into the active cp.

In the 48000 the backplane IP is 10.0.0.5 and 10.0.0.6

Please have a look into this post: 

http://community.brocade.com/message/19826#19826

David found that on DCX it could be possible that 10.0.0.5 & 6 are not working try instead 127.1.1.5 & 6.

Keep in mind that you need root rights for this task. Login as root and run ssh root@127.1.1.5 or ssh root@10.0.0.5

if you are on the other side of the director you can check the interfaces and IP and do an hafailover if ha is in snc.

good luck,

Andreas

Super Contributor
Posts: 635
Registered: ‎04-12-2010

Re: Unable to access Active CP after fastboot

double shot .. :-)

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-02-2011

Re: Unable to access Active CP after fastboot

Thank you all.  Once I got in I found that the interfaces showed 'no link'.  I know nobody has been in the data center so I decided to do a full 'reboot'.  Waiting for it to come back up now...

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-02-2011

Re: Unable to access Active CP after fastboot

You guys rock.  After doing a reboot, the CP role changed so I'm able to get into the switch now via normal methods.  There is still some kind of network issue or connectivity issue b/c there still isn't a link.  I'll have to check that out once I'm back at the customer site.

Thanks again.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook