Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-19-2012

Unable to Extend Fabric - FC E-Port segmented - zone conflict

We have 4 switches of Brocade. We want to do the trunking between two switches.

We are having following config.

 

Config :

 

SW01:admin> version
Kernel:     2.6.14.2
Fabric OS:  v6.3.1a
Made on:    Fri Feb 26 23:39:19 2010
Flash:      Sun Aug 1 06:46:31 2010
BootProm:   4.6.6

SW2:admin> version
Kernel:     2.6.14.2
Fabric OS:  v6.4.1a
Made on:    Tue Dec 14 03:05:40 2010
Flash:      Tue Dec 6 09:19:01 2011
BootProm:   1.0.9

We have connected FC Cables on both switch ends.

 

Error we are getting is as follows

 21  21   671500   id    N4   Online      FC  E-Port  segmented,(zone conflict)

We have enabled All Access Mode on both end.

 

SW01:admin> defzone --show

Default Zone Access Mode
        committed - All Access
        transaction - No Transaction

SW2:admin> defzone --show
Default Zone Access Mode
        committed - All Access
        transaction - No Transaction

 

What is the reason? How can we get config working.

 

.::[ashX]::.
External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Unable to Extend Fabric - FC E-Port segmented - zone conflict

first, if you want to form a ISL beetwen both switch, must make sure each switch have unique Domain ID.

 

additional, when both switch have already a config, must make sure that the config  match on both/all switches in the same fabric

 

 

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-19-2012

Re: Unable to Extend Fabric - FC E-Port segmented - zone conflict

We want to show SAN Storage which is connected on one FC Switch to servers which are connected on another FC Switch.

 

We have layed cable inbetween two switches. I think it is called Trunking.

 

Domain IDs are unique for all switches.

.::[ashX]::.
External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Unable to Extend Fabric - FC E-Port segmented - zone conflict

here some elementar definition:

 

ISL = Inter Switch Link

 

Trunking = TWO or More ISL ( both or all the switch you want to form a Trunk, required Trunking License )

 

DPS or EBR = Dynamic Path Selections / Exchange Base Routing; consist of TWO or ISL Path

( neither Trunking nor other License is required )

 

However to Form a Fabric all Switch in the Fabric must have a Fabric License.

 

As mentioned in my preview post, i believe you problem is related to mismatch config.

 

 

 

 

 

TechHelp24
Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: Unable to Extend Fabric - FC E-Port segmented - zone conflict

Apart from the defzone, you have configured the very same zoneset on both ends, haven't you?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-19-2012

Re: Unable to Extend Fabric - FC E-Port segmented - zone conflict

I did not get the meaning of zonesets. Can you please elaborate.

 

I am putting some more information about our switches below.

 

SW1:admin> switchshow
switchName:     SW1
switchType:     58.1
switchState:    Online
switchMode:     Native
switchRole:     Principal
switchDomain:   1
switchId:       fffc01
switchWwn:      10:00:00:05:1e:90:22:e7
zoning:         ON (Celerra_Gateway_Config)
switchBeacon:   OFF
FC Router:      OFF
FC Router BB Fabric ID: 1

SW2:admin> switchshow
switchName:     SW2
switchType:     72.3
switchState:    Online
switchMode:     Native
switchRole:     Principal
switchDomain:   8
switchId:       fffc08
switchWwn:      10:00:00:05:33:be:2c:4b
zoning:         ON (HICCLOUDHOSTS)
switchBeacon:   OFF

 

.::[ashX]::.
External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Unable to Extend Fabric - FC E-Port segmented - zone conflict

as i mention in my preview post, if you want to ISL, the config on both Switch must match, config nbame, zone, alias.

 

you want here to ISL TWO switch with total different config name, and this not work.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-19-2012

Re: Unable to Extend Fabric - FC E-Port segmented - zone conflict

Hi,

 

It will be difficult to keep same naming conventions for zone alias as the devices connected are very different.

 

We can make the top most configuration name same for all switches. But keeping zone/alias name same is difficult as we are naming them with reference to the Devices which are connected.

 

 

 

.::[ashX]::.
External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Unable to Extend Fabric - FC E-Port segmented - zone conflict

again, if you want to ISL, both switches must have same config name, alias and zone.

 

we can discuss this for week or mounths, and the situation not change.

 

i would suggest follow:

 

disconnect the ISL

 

1) planned a maintenance Window

2) create a copy of config on Switch 2 , and save with same name as switch 1

3) review the alias, wwn and zone from switch_1

4  -> repeat the same as 3) in switch_2

5) add all the member alias, zone and wwn to config in switch_2

6) -> repeat the same procedure 5) in switch_1

 

now you have both switch whit same config, and the switch can join the Fabric.

 

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-19-2012

Re: Unable to Extend Fabric - FC E-Port segmented - zone conflict

Hi,

 

Thanks for your valuable reply.

We will try to do the things you mentioned and let you know the results as soon as we get the maintenance window.

 

- Ashish K

.::[ashX]::.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.