Fibre Channel (SAN)

New Contributor
Accepted Solution

Turn off SSH Access on Brocade DS_300B fibre switch

Hello,

I am not experienced with configuring fibre switches so please bear with me. Is there a way I can turn off SSH access to a Brocade DS_300B fibre switch from the GUI?

I go into these switches only now and again to configure zoning for our SAN and am not that familiar with them, so I hoping these is somewhere in the GUI I can do this, however as yet I have not found where this can be done

If it helps it is running Fabric OS 6.1.0c

Thanks in advance

Andy

Regular Contributor

Re: Turn off SSH Access on Brocade DS_300B fibre switch

[ Edited ]

Yes it is possible by means of configuring the ipfilter.

I believe this to be possible from the webgui if you hit the "advanced" button, however I don't know the exact name anymore of the tab.

Be aware you can lock yourself out of the switch by adjusting the ipfilter.

Make sure you you got the proper serial cable and test the serial connection first, you will need in the event you look yourself out.

Also make sure you clone the default policy, make alterations to your clone and than activate the cloned policy.

That enables a speedy rollback should you need it,it also preserves the deafult policy.

Frequent Contributor

See below from the WebTools Admin Guide:

Configuring IP Filtering
Web Tools provides the ability to control what client IP addresses may connect to a switch or fabric.
To set up IP Filtering, perform the following steps.

1. Open the Switch Administration window (in Basic mode) as described in “Opening the Switch
Administration window” on page 31.
2. Click Show Advanced Mode.
3. Select the Security Policies tab.
4. Select IPFilter on the Security Policies menu.
5. Click Create Policy.
The Create IP Filter Policy dialog box displays.
6. Enter a policy name, select a policy type, and then click the Add Rule button.