Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-04-2011

To remove upgrade license key from BR7800

Hello, Everyone.

If I remove upgrade license  key from BR7800,

should I reboot the switch?

Thanks.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: To remove upgrade license key from BR7800

Depends, if you want to lose that functionality than yes you could reboot the switch.

If you want to keep those functions, then don't.

Go look for and add the license again.

Keep in mind that a port down event on the ports (that where unlocked with the license), will disable them until the license is present again.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-04-2011

Re: To remove upgrade license key from BR7800

Hello, Dion

Thank you for your answer.

The installed 7800 switch only uses 4 FC ports (Port No.0~3) and GE0.

In this case, is it ok for FC and GE traffic when I remove the upgrade license key?

Regards,

Junhee Kim

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: To remove upgrade license key from BR7800

By removing the upgrade license the unit reverts back to a 7800 4/2.

A 4/2 unit has FC0-3 and Ge0 and Ge1 enabled by default.

So Yes you could remove the license.

But don't think you can use it in another 7800 or any other product.

Licenses are bound to the switch's wwn.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-04-2011

Re: To remove upgrade license key from BR7800

I see.

I'm really appreciate for your support.

Thank you.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: To remove upgrade license key from BR7800

Your welcome, if you got the answer you wanted could you mark the thread as answered.

tx Dion

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook