Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-24-2009

SilkWorm24000 CP in Slot 6 set to faulty because CP ERROR asserted

Hi people

I'm receving this message on 24000 on both fabrics :

010/02/23-18:36:16, , 150546,, WARNING, SWDIR20F1, Switch status changed from HEALTHY to MARGINAL.

2010/02/23-18:36:16, , 150547,, WARNING, SWDIR20F1, Switch status change contributing factor CP: CP non-redundant.

2010/02/23-18:36:16, , 150548,, WARNING, SWDIR30F2, Switch status changed from HEALTHY to MARGINAL.

2010/02/23-18:36:16, , 150549,, WARNING, SWDIR30F2, Switch status change contributing factor CP: CP non-redundant.

2010/02/23-18:36:52, , 150550,, INFO, SilkWorm24000, CP in slot 6 not faulty, CP ERROR deasserted

2010/02/23-18:36:55, , 150551,, INFO, SilkWorm24000, Resetting standby CP (double reset may occur)

2010/02/23-18:37:45, , 150552,, INFO, SilkWorm24000, HA State is in sync

Any advice to get rid of messages and possible trouble ?

thanks in advance,

jorge

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: SilkWorm24000 CP in Slot 6 set to faulty because CP ERROR asserted

--->>> ....on both fabrics :

Is the Director configured as DUAL Domain ?

FOS 5.0.x 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-24-2009

Re: SilkWorm24000 CP in Slot 6 set to faulty because CP ERROR asserted

Indeed, dual domain on just one 24k

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: SilkWorm24000 CP in Slot 6 set to faulty because CP ERROR asserted

check by "hashow" command from CLI if both CP are in High Availability mode.

if yes, start the "hasyncstart", if no post the exact o/p here

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-24-2009

Re: SilkWorm24000 CP in Slot 6 set to faulty because CP ERROR asserted

on both domains


SWDIR30F2:admin> hashow
Local CP (Slot 5, CP0): Active, Cold Recovered
Remote CP (Slot 6, CP1): Standby, Healthy
HA enabled, Heartbeat Up, HA State synchronized
SWDIR30F2:admin> date
Wed Feb 24 16:31:15 UTC 2010
SWDIR30F2:admin>
SWDIR30F2:admin>
SWDIR30F2:admin> hashow
Local CP (Slot 5, CP0): Active, Cold Recovered
Remote CP (Slot 6, CP1): Standby, Healthy
HA enabled, Heartbeat Up, HA State synchronized
SWDIR30F2:admin>
SWDIR30F2:admin>
SWDIR30F2:admin>
SWDIR30F2:admin> hasyncstart
HA State synchronization has started
SWDIR30F2:admin> hashow
Local CP (Slot 5, CP0): Active, Cold Recovered
Remote CP (Slot 6, CP1): Standby, Healthy
HA enabled, Heartbeat Up, HA State not in sync
SWDIR30F2:admin> hashow
Local CP (Slot 5, CP0): Active, Cold Recovered
Remote CP (Slot 6, CP1): Standby, Healthy
HA enabled, Heartbeat Up, HA State synchronized
SWDIR30F2:admin>
SWDIR30F2:admin> logout

SWDIR20F1:admin> hashow
Local CP (Slot 5, CP0): Active, Cold Recovered
Remote CP (Slot 6, CP1): Standby, Healthy
HA enabled, Heartbeat Up, HA State synchronized
SWDIR20F1:admin> hasyncstart
HA State synchronization has started
SWDIR20F1:admin> hashow
Local CP (Slot 5, CP0): Active, Cold Recovered
Remote CP (Slot 6, CP1): Standby, Healthy
HA enabled, Heartbeat Up, HA State not in sync
SWDIR20F1:admin> hashow
Local CP (Slot 5, CP0): Active, Cold Recovered
Remote CP (Slot 6, CP1): Standby, Healthy
HA enabled, Heartbeat Up, HA State synchronized
SWDIR20F1:admin> logout

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: SilkWorm24000 CP in Slot 6 set to faulty because CP ERROR asserted

jorge, see the error message below, and take action as descripted.

FW-1433

Probable Cause



Indicates that the switch status is not in a healthy state. This occurred because the number of

faulty CPs is greater than or equal to the policy set by the switchStatusPolicySet command. The

CPs are non-redundant.

If you power cycle a Brocade 24000 chassis in dual-domain configuration, and then reset the

micro-switch of the active CP before the heartbeat is up, this will cause both CPs to come up in a

non-redundant state.

Recommended Action

Run the firmwareShow command to verify that both CPs have compatible firmware levels. Run the

firmwareDownload command to install the same level of firmware to both CPs. Replace any faulty

CPs.

If you reset the micro-switch (the latch on the CP blade) on the active CP before the heartbeat was

up on a power cycle, and the CPs came up non-redundant, then you should reboot the CPs again to

clear the problem.









Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-24-2009

Re: SilkWorm24000 CP in Slot 6 set to faulty because CP ERROR asserted

Ok, many thanks for your help. Time for me to come up with a plan.

regards

jorge

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook