Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎10-02-2017
Accepted Solution

See WWN in other switch in Fabric?

Hello;

 

I have a fabric with 3 switch (Example; A, B, C), and i need to know which WWN is connect in switch C from console the switch A, so exists a command for this action?

 

 

Thanks 

 

Regards

Brocade Moderator
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-20-2010

Re: See WWN in other switch in Fabric?

Hello,

 

You can use the fabricshow command to view the switches in the fabric. 

Example from the FOS admin guide:

 

switch:admin> fabricshow

Switch ID Worldwide Name Enet IP Addr FC IP Addr Name

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

2: fffc02 10:00:00:60:69:e0:01:46 10.3.220.1 0.0.0.0 "ras001"

3: fffc03 10:00:00:60:69:e0:01:47 10.3.220.2 0.0.0.0 "ras002"

5: fffc05 10:00:00:05:1e:34:01:bd 10.3.220.5 0.0.0.0 "ras005"

fec0:60:69bc:63:205:1eff:fe34:1bd

6: fffc06 10:00:00:05:1e:34:02:3e 10.3.220.6 0.0.0.0 >"ras006"

7: fffc07 10:00:00:05:1e:34:02:0c 10.3.220.7 0.0.0.0 "ras007"

(output truncated)

The Fabric has 26 switches

 

 

Best regards,

David

Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎10-02-2017

Re: See WWN in other switch in Fabric?

Hello David,

 

You dont understand me,  i need know which WWN is connect in a Switch i dont need what switch they are in Fabric.

 

Example;

 

I connect 2 host in Switch C, i open Console in Switch A.

 

how i see in console the Switch A the WWN of the 2 hots connect in Switch C, it's possible?

 

Thanks Regards.

Brocade Moderator
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-20-2010

Re: See WWN in other switch in Fabric?

Oh, I'm sorry.  I misunderstood your question.  Unfortunatley all you can do is get the 24 bit FC address of the devices in the fabric using the nsallshow command.  You cannot get the wwn of a device on another switch in the fabric unless you log in to that switch. 

 

Regards,

David

Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎10-02-2017

Re: See WWN in other switch in Fabric?

Hello Dave,

 

Oh, i understand.

 

Thanks for your help.

 

Regards.

Brocade Moderator
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎03-29-2010

Re: See WWN in other switch in Fabric?

Try these commands:

 

nscamshow - will show a list of all devices(F ports) connected to the fabric, and their WWNs.

 

Example:

 

switch:user> nscamshow
nscam show for remote switches:
Switch entry for 92
state rev owner cap_available
known v640 0xfffc23 1
Device list: count 8
Type Pid COS PortName NodeName
N 5c1000; 3;23:06:00:05:1e:53:e3:8a;50:00:51:e5:3e:38:a0:06;
FC4s: FCP
PortSymb: [45] "Brocade VDPC Entity-Slot#00,DPC#00,Entity#03."
Fabric Port Name: 20:10:00:05:1e:53:e3:8a
Permanent Port Name: 23:06:00:05:1e:53:e3:8a
Port Index: 16
Share Area: No
Device Shared in Other AD: No
Redirect: No
Partial: No
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
Then maybe when you have the device WWN, you may want to know what other devices are in the same zone with that device. Use nszonemember
 
Example:
 
switch:admin> nszonemember 10:00:00:00:c8:23:0b:ad
3 local zoned members:
 
Type Pid COS PortName NodeName SCR
NL 041901;2,3;10:00:00:00:c9:26:0e:ae;20:00:00:00:c9:26:0e:ae;3
Fabric Port Name: 20:09:00:60:69:50:06:78
Permanent Port Name: 10:00:00:00:c9:26:0e:ae
Device type: Physical Initiator
NL 0416e2; 3;22:00:00:20:37:d9:6b:b3;20:00:00:20:37:d9:6b:b3; 0
FC4s: FCP [SEAGATE ST318304FC 0005]
Fabric Port Name: 20:06:00:60:69:50:06:78
Permanent Port Name: 22:00:00:20:37:d9:6b:b3
Device type: Physical Target
NL 0416e4; 3;22:00:00:20:37:d9:61:ac;20:00:00:20:37:d9:61:ac; 0
FC4s: FCP [SEAGATE ST318304FC 0005]
Permanent Port Name: 22:00:00:20:37:d9:61:ac
Device type: Physical Target
 
No remote zoned members
 
This shows that 3 other devices are zoned with the wwn 10:00:00:00:c8:23:0b:ad, and all three are on the same switch(local), and there are no members zoned with this device on other switches. If there were other zoned members on another switch, those members would be listed below as 'remote zone members'.
 
Good luck!
doc

Any and all information provided by me is for entertainment value and should not be relied upon as a guaranteed solution or warranty of mechantability. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a concern about data loss, or network disconnection, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, Please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution".

Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎10-02-2017

Re: See WWN in other switch in Fabric?

Hello Doc;

 

Thanks for your help, the command "nscamshow" it was what i needed :)

 

Regards

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook