Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-27-2006

Replace standby CP on 48000 causing I/O interruption?

Hi,<!graemlin::confused:>

External Moderator
Posts: 5,040
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Replace standby CP on 48000 causing I/O interruption?

Hi kelvkwok,please inform.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-27-2006

Re: Replace standby CP on 48000 causing I/O interruption?

Hi TechHelp24,Time Awake: 0 days

External Moderator
Posts: 5,040
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Replace standby CP on 48000 causing I/O interruption?

Hi kelvkwok,BTW: you can find all this error message into a Fabric OS System Error Message Guide.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-27-2006

Re: Replace standby CP on 48000 causing I/O interruption?

Checked FOS Error Message Guide for FSSM-1003 and seems the HA is out of sync when the standby CP was removed and caused disruptive failover. Will simulate again and make sure HA is synce and see if it helps.Thanks a lot TechHelp24.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-27-2006

Re: Replace standby CP on 48000 causing I/O interruption?

Finally get a chance to work on this subject again. Another customer has 48000 with latest firmware 5.2.0b. We tested the same thing again of replacing the standby CP. While already make sure the HA is sync. But still experienced 2 I/O interruption of about 40-60s during power off before physically removal and power on after physically insert back. Seems to me it is a product behaviour. Anyone can share on this?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-27-2006

Re: Replace standby CP on 48000 causing I/O interruption?

Hi, anyone tried the new FOS 5.3? Still the same I/O interruption? Please share.

External Moderator
Posts: 5,040
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Replace standby CP on 48000 causing I/O interruption?

kelvkwok,Cheers

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-27-2006

Re: Replace standby CP on 48000 causing I/O interruption?

TechHelp24, thanks a lot for your advice.To your question, No, I am not interested in CP failover without the Standby. I'm just interested why removing a Standby causing I/O interruption. And I am sure both CP are synchronised before the replacement.

External Moderator
Posts: 5,040
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Replace standby CP on 48000 causing I/O interruption?

Hi kelvkwok,These errors is not normal anyhow, I do not know that and I have 5 Directors, 12K; 24K and 48K with different FabOS Rel. all work fine.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook