Fibre Channel (SAN)

N/A

Question about appropriate use for Brocade 300

Hello all,

I have what I think is a very basic question, but not being an expert on SAN Fabric design I have not yet been able to provide the proper answer to my business.

I am working on a DataCenter project to deliver a "highly available" "Mission Critical Infrastructure" to a number of manufacturing facilities.  These sites are inherently small (on average less than 100 blade servers per site) with no interconnection between locations.  The original design of the SAN fabric has proven not to be scalable to the extended scope of the project and My group is charged with recommending a new design.  I am not a SAN expert by trade, but I have been given the task of putting this together.  The previous design was essentially a series of HP Blade Enclosures with Brocade Switch modules each chained to the next and finally connecting to the Disk Array.  This was a bad design from the start, and now has finally been addressed because of added capacity exceeding the maximum hop count.

There are practical and budgetary limitations of this design, so I worked with the SAN experts at HP and we all came to agreement that the best method for this scenario would be to deploy 2 Brocade 5100 switches in each Data center (one devoted to each of the 2 SAN fabrics).  Each Blade Enclosure would connect to the 5100 via 2 trunked ISL links.  This would at least create a dedicated core switch for each Fabric that was protected by redundant power supplies.  While this may not be the ideal method, it was universally agreed that given the constraints it was the best fit.

The problem is that as part of the initial deployment each data center purchased 2 Brocade 300 switches.  These switches were chained off of the blade infrastructure and provided connectivity to non-blade servers and our tape drives.