Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-05-2009

Password recovery

Dear Team

We are using IBM 48K Switches. We are using only admin account for login purposes. We are not able to use the other inbuilt account like factory &root ? we have changed this password long back but didnt remember exactly .Is it possible to recover the password ?

Please help.

Thanks

Sundar

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-04-2007

Re: Password recovery

Sundar,

If you are able to reboot the switch then use the internal utility as explained in document attached. Check the "SwitchType" and translate to the Brocade equivalent and verify the FOS version carefully before trying the procedure. Be very aware that this will cause a break in I/O communication to hosts.

Firmware specific to recovery of password is available but you will need to get Brocade support help.

External Moderator
Posts: 5,034
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Password recovery

For non-disruptive Password recovery.

Password recovery options

The following table describes the options available when one or more types of passwords are lost.

Topic

If all the passwords are forgotten, what is the

password recovery mechanism?

Are these procedures non-disruptive recovery procedures?

Solution

Contact your switch service provider.

A non-disruptive procedure is available.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-04-2007

Re: Password recovery

I had opened a brocade techsupport but was not prompted by Brocade engineer to reset password. So I assumed they couldnt help. So the case was closed without resolution. Please see enclosed secure doc regarding the email support thread.

Re-added the document

External Moderator
Posts: 5,034
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Password recovery

--->>> So the case was closed without resolution.

what is the reason the Brocade Support closed the Call ?

Can you please post now the DOC Content in the text ? I'm unable to Open the File due Internal Server Error.

THX

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 5,034
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Password recovery

Fiddler,

Please Copy and Paste the content in the Thread.

I'm unable to Download or Open the file.

Thank You. 

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-04-2007

Re: Password recovery

Sorry I apologise Sundar - I seem to have unintentionally hijacked this thread from you.

TechHelp24 - see the previous post to yours..i added the comments.

There are two of Silkworm 3250 (Brocade 3250 8pt FullFab Switches)

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-05-2009

Re: Password recovery

Thanks Fidler . I am able to login through factory account .

Is there any default password for root account.

Thanks in advance

Sundar

External Moderator
Posts: 5,034
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Password recovery

Default root Password is "fibranne"

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-04-2007

Re: Password recovery

Sundar,

Almost always its fibranne - sometimes the implementers use the admin password as the same for "root" and "factory". Some people do remember to change it. So if for eg., you happen to have "ut1litieS" as password for admin, quite often the installer would use the same password. So try that. Sometimes its the original default one which is found on http://www.cirt.net  ....look for Default password link under Data.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook