Fibre Channel (SAN)

Occasional Contributor

New in Brocade 4100...need help please.

Hi All,

I'm new to SAN specially to switches and need help from whoever is familiar with these product.

I have a Brocade 4100 with 32 gigabit ports. Currently I have 16 SFPs installed. I want to connect the switch to DS3400 with two controllers.

My scenario is, I want to use four ports connecting to DS3400. TWO ports on Controller A and TWO ports on Controller B and I want to make those two ports as etherchannel so there will be two etherchannel in total one going to controller A and one going to controller B. I've been reading documents about the Trunking ISL feature of the switch but don't know how to actually do the configuration. I understand that I need a trunking license installed in the switch before I can configure it. But after I obtain the license, can you please show me the ways on configuring the way that I'm suppose to configure it, or if you have good documentation please give me links.

Thank you so much for your response.

Super Contributor

Re: New in Brocade 4100...need help please.

You have to merge the SWs first:

pls follow the procedure:

in 4100 set ip address, do a FOS upgrade which is compatible with ds3400, set the timezone, disable the SW:

> islshow

> trunkshow

>switchdisable

>switchstatusshow

>cfgdisable

>cfgshow

>configure

set the fabric.ops parameters to the exactly as DS3400(from admin log in take the out put of configshow)

only change the domain ID of 4100 from default 1 to any between 1-239

after setting the fabric.ops parameters , then enable the sw

>switchenable

>reboot

then take one port group of 3400 and  1 portgroup of 4100(0-7/8-15 etc) then connect the fibre cables one by one and see through switchshow, islshow, trunkshow.trnuking license should be installed in both the SWs.

For more pls find the pdf

if you find it helpful, make the thread correct

Occasional Contributor

Just one addition to Hemant list of commands: