Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎02-27-2008

Network Error during Fabric OS process

Greetings all

I've encountered the following error message when trying to download Fabric OS 5.3.0a

Firmware download failed - Network is not reachable. Please verify the IP address of the server is correct. (0x32)

(Note the switch is a Brocade 3016 in an IBM Blade Chassis) I've managed to upgrade the Fabric OS 5.0.4a up to V5.1.0c) I'm just having issues rolling it up to 5.3.0a

Thanks

David

External Moderator
Posts: 4,986
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Network Error during Fabric OS process

Defect ID DEFECT000237198 Technical Severity Medium
Summary FOS upgrade on Brocade 3016 to v5.3.x leaves the switch in an unusable state.
Symptom Customer was upgrading Brocade 3016 from FOS v5.0.x to v5.3.x and some units would not boot
up afterword. After login, limited commands are available and switch fails cold recovery.
Risk of Fix Low Feature Mgmt Embedded - SNMP
Probability Medium Function Other
Reported In Release FOS5.3.1

TechHelp24
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎02-27-2008

Re: Network Error during Fabric OS process

Hi TechHelp24


Thanks for the reply


When I log into the switch and run any of the following command


"switchshow"

"firmwareshow"


I recieve the following error


rbash: switchshow: command not found


This happen after V5.3.0a , is there any work around to get this switch back to normal state.


Cheers


David

External Moderator
Posts: 4,986
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Network Error during Fabric OS process

david

i unfortunately assume here that the FOS is corrupted. Can you collect the data with supportshow and upload here.

With something luck tries again with firmwaredownload and reinstall the FOS 530a

TechHelp24
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎02-27-2008

Re: Network Error during Fabric OS process

Thanks for the prompt reply tech help

coralfsw2:USERID> supportshow
rbash: supportshow: command not found
coralfsw2:USERID> supportshow
rbash: supportshow: command not found
coralfsw2:USERID> firmwaredownload
fabosShowInit failed: 2

Unforunately this switch is inside a IBM blade chassis , so I don't have the option to use a serial cable (as far as I'm aware)

I've got a ticket opened up with IBM to see what they come back with.

David

External Moderator
Posts: 4,986
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Network Error during Fabric OS process

david

not sure but i mean you can use the serial port from bladecenter must select here the appropriate blade slot and then can connect serial with the switch.

BTW to recovery the FOS you need a net_install_405.img or net_install26_405.img to reload the FOS trough ENET and TFTP

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-10-2009

Re: Network Error during Fabric OS process

Where i can find net_install_405.img or net_install26_405.img to reload the FOS trough ENET and TFTP? and the procedure?

I have a Brocade Blade Swicth slimwork 3016 firts its has firmware level 5.0.5c then was upgrade to 5.1.0c and its ok, but when i upgrade to

5.3.0d the firmware was loaded but when reboot i cant execute any command or see on the web

login as: USERID
USERID@10.0.3.114's password:
brocadessm:USERID> version
fabosShowInit failed: 2
brocadessm:USERID> firmwaredownloadstatus
fabosShowInit failed: 2
brocadessm:USERID>

External Moderator
Posts: 4,986
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Network Error during Fabric OS process

you can get allnecessary File from Brocade only if you have a Active Maintenance Contracts.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

Download FREE NVMe eBook