Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

NPIV for Vmware ESX LABs

Hi everyone,

I am studying for Vmware VCP and I would like to do NPIV with Virtual Machines. I have managed to identify HBAs that are compartible for the LAB (QLogic 2462) My main issue is on the switch. Since this is a LAB, I am looking at a low-cost switch. I have read thta Brocade Silkworm 3250 does support NPIV, Now on the otherside , Brocade calls this Access Gateway and there is no material about Access Gateway for the 3250.

I know that I can run the portCfgNPIVPort command on a 3250 FC switch to enable the port for NPIV. Does this mean that once this port is enabled, I can connect an NPIV HBA on my Vmware ESX Host and have the virtual HBAs pass through to the Storage?

If that is the case then, it looks as if it is much better than switches that implement Access Gateway, because they actually loose the Switch mode.

Please attached.

External Moderator
Posts: 5,033
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: NPIV for Vmware ESX LABs

3250 and 3850 not support neither AG= Access Gateway, nor NPIV.

AG was introduced with Brocade 200

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: NPIV for Vmware ESX LABs

Please help me understand the Page 16 of the following IBM document a)

. Brocade models 3014, 3250, 3850, 3900, and 24000 have NPIV support defaulted OFF and it must be activated

on a port by port basis. All other models support NPIV by default.

Find the URL: http://www.redbooks.ibm.com/redpapers/pdfs/redp4342.pdf

Regards

netbairro

External Moderator
Posts: 5,033
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: NPIV for Vmware ESX LABs

with other word to avoid confusion on my preview Post, NPIV is enable by Default but not as AG Mode since AG is not supported by 3250

BTW, i believe the feature NPIV was supported native by FOS 5.0.x and above.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: NPIV for Vmware ESX LABs

We seem to be on the same page now,

So the 3250 DOES NOT support the Access Gateway feature (It CANNOT operate as Access Gateway)

But, it (3250) has a function to activate NPIV as of FOS 5.0.x. How is this NPIV used if you can help clarify.

External Moderator
Posts: 5,033
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: NPIV for Vmware ESX LABs

is very simple, with "portcfgnpivport port_number 1" command, enable NPIV to specific port.

here some details about NPIV configuration in VMware

http://pubs.vmware.com/vsphere-4-esx-vcenter/index.jsp?topic=/com.vmware.vsphere.vmadmin.doc_41/vsp_vm_guide/configuring_virtual_machines/t_configure_fibre_channel_npiv_settings.html

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-02-2013

Re: NPIV for Vmware ESX LABs

Thank you,

Going back to my initial question,

I know that I can run the portCfgNPIVPort command on a 3250 FC switch to enable the port for NPIV. Does this mean that once this port is enabled, I can connect an NPIV HBA on my Vmware ESX Host and have the virtual HBAs pass through to the Storage?


Can I use the Silkworm 3250 FC Switch with the correct FOS eg, v5.3.1b to run a lab for Vmware ESXi NPIV?



Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook