Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎07-16-2013
Accepted Solution

Mirroring between two san

Hi,

I have two IBM DS 5020 san. I have also mirroring on them. Or had. Until I moved one of the in another data center. It seems that I cannot enable the mirroring again. 

 

Between the datacenters I have black fiber. So a fabric over 50 km. But it works fine. All licenses are in place, configuration ok. I have two links actually between the data centers. But one of them is up.

 

For the DS, I connect FC port used for mirroring to the san switch. I see that both SAN communicate with the fiber switches. I see the WWNs. So I have created the connection betwen them. 

 

Here is the configuration for each san switch port used by the SAN.


Area Number:              9
Speed Level:              4G
Fill Word:                    1(Arbff-Arbff)
AL_PA Offset 13:      OFF
Trunk Port                  ON
Long Distance           OFF
VC Link Init                OFF
Locked L_Port          OFF
Locked G_Port         OFF
Disabled E_Port       OFF
Locked E_Port          OFF
ISL R_RDY Mode    OFF
RSCN Suppressed  OFF
Persistent Disable   OFF
LOS TOV enable     OFF
NPIV capability        ON
QOS E_Port              AE
Port Auto Disable:   OFF
Rate Limit                 OFF
Mirror Port                OFF
Credit Recovery     ON
F_Port Buffers        OFF
Fault Delay:           0(R_A_TOV)
NPIV PP Limit:       126
CSCTL mode:        OFF

 

I have tried with WORDFILL having values 0 and 3. Did not work.

 

The error i get is 180 - cannot communicate with the remote storage subsystem to complete this request.

 

Any tips much appreciated.

Thank you!

Contributor
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎07-16-2013

Re: Mirroring between two san

To mention that the GBICs i am using are Brocade 8Gb. But I have configured the speed to be 4 Gb, as the controller supports. I have tried with 8 Gb as well. Does not work. Were 4 Gb before, but I do not think that this should be an issue.

 

Contributor
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎07-16-2013

Re: Mirroring between two san

And one mor thing. On the main SAN, I see two small Logical Drives called MIRROR REPOSITORY. Should those be deleted?

Before moving the SAN, I have stopped the mirroring process. Not suspended, but stoped. 

Thanks.

Contributor
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎07-16-2013

Re: Mirroring between two san

My mistake. I have mixed the controllers. A has to speak with A and B has to speak with B.

:D

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-02-2015

Re: Mirroring between two san

Hello Alexia,

did you mean that only mistake that you had is mixing on zoning controlars A & B?

i have the same issue and need your help

Contributor
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎07-16-2013

Re: Mirroring between two san

Yes

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook