Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-23-2011

Maximum number of ISL's

Hello,

Is there a recommended maximum number of ISL's I should have on a core switch ?

If I had core DC04, could I continue to add ISL's to edge switches until I had exhausted port usage, or is there a recommended maximum ?

Regards,

Berd

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Maximum number of ISL's

In a Trunk, a maximum of 8 Port is allowed.

if you don't have any Trunking License option, another way is as DPS, in such case I don't would use more than 2 ISL Port at same time.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-07-2011

Re: Maximum number of ISL's

You can add as much ISL as possible (max port count).

You have to check if you have enough buffers free on your DCX4S. This can be an issue if you have many ISLs above 10KM lenght and FC8-48 port cards  installed.

Under normal conditions this should not really an issue.

Andreas

Regular Contributor
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎04-21-2008

Re: Maximum number of ISL's

Hi TechHelp24,

>> I don't would use more than 2 ISL Port at same time.

Could you explain us why please ? I'd be very grateful

Thanks in advance

Kind regards,

--

david

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Maximum number of ISL's

Sure, that a difference beetwen you and me.

Official Brocade Statement.:

DPS in a case of different Leght and/or Speed between e.g. DISK or Tape, caused at some Time that the ISL crash.

another question ?

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-23-2011

Re: Maximum number of ISL's

I presume you mean no more than 2 ISL's back to each edge switch ?

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Maximum number of ISL's

From you first Q. I understand you want to add more ISL ( not in a Trunk ) from a Core-to-Edge.

--->>> I presume you mean no more than 2 ISL's back to each edge switch ?

Is correct, and in such case this is a DPS.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-23-2011

Re: Maximum number of ISL's

Thanks, and what would be the maximum number of edge switches I can connect to the core  DC04 utilising DPS. Is there a recommended limit ?

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Maximum number of ISL's

--->>>Is there a recommended limit ?

is unknown to me, and i don't know if here is any Official restrictions but...

--->>>....and what would be the maximum number of edge switches I can connect to the core  DC04 utilising DPS.

like ISL Trunking I would not connect more as one Edge Switch to each Octo on DCX Site.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.