Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-07-2008

Lli errors incrementing

I have a 24 port Brocade 5480 in a blade enclosure that's configured as an access gateway.  Port 3 won't activate.  The hba in the blade using that blade slot 3 is good and works in another slot.  But when reinserting it back into slot 3, I get nothing at all.  Tried disabling port, reenabling port.  Checked all configs, tried different speeds, diagshow, etc.. and nothing show any errors other than the Lli (low level interface) counter incrementing.  It's now up from 0 to 538 in the last 60 minutes while none of the other counters have incremented.   I used portstatsclear to clear all stats and rebooted the server also.  Still nothing.  Do the Lli errors mean it's a bad switch port?  Any help would be great..

 

portshow 3
portIndex:   3
portName: port3
portHealth: Fabric vision license not present. Please install the license and retry the operation.

Authentication: None
portDisableReason: None
portCFlags: 0x1
portFlags: 0x1   PRESENT
LocalSwcFlags: 0x0
portType:  18.0
POD Port: Port is licensed
portState: 2    Offline
Protocol: FC
portPhys:  5    No_Sync         portScn:   2    Offline
port generation number:    0
state transition count:    1

portId:    000000
portIfId:    43020013
portWwn:   20:03:00:05:33:f0:51:aa
portWwn of device(s) connected:
        None
Distance:  normal
portSpeed: Negotiating

Credit Recovery: Inactive
LE domain: 0
Peer beacon: Off
FC Fastwrite: OFF
Interrupts:        0          Link_failure: 0          Frjt:         0
Unknown:           0          Loss_of_sync: 0          Fbsy:         0
Lli:               538        Loss_of_sig:  0
Proc_rqrd:         0          Protocol_err: 0
Timed_out:         0          Invalid_word: 0
Rx_flushed:        0          Invalid_crc:  0
Tx_unavail:        0          Delim_err:    0
Free_buffer:       0          Address_err:  0
Overrun:           0          Lr_in:        0
Suspended:         0          Lr_out:       0
Parity_err:        0          Ols_in:       0
2_parity_err:      0          Ols_out:      0
CMI_bus_err:       0

Port part of other ADs: No

Broadcom Moderator
Posts: 449
Registered: ‎03-29-2011

Re: Lli errors incrementing

Hi J-L-B,

so the port does not even managed to get in sync, meaning low level issues. Suspect hardware on the port. Do you have a portlogdumpport 3 output to share and you have checked the errlog for messages related to the port. What level FOS is your 5480 at?

kind regards

 

 




If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution".


Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-07-2008

Re: Lli errors incrementing

No it will never get past No_Sync.  It's an internal blade slot so there's no cabling or sfp to change out.  There are no errors in the errlog.  Only informational messages about Logins.  Here's the outputs below from this morning.  I cleared the stats yesterday so you can see from porterrshow that nothing else has incremented except Lli.  Portcfgshow tells me that this port is configured identically to 15 other ports that are working.

 

 

SWITCH1B:admin>
SWITCH1B:admin>
SWITCH1B:admin>
SWITCH1B:admin> portshow 3
portIndex:   3
portName: port3
portHealth: Fabric vision license not present. Please install the license and retry the operation.

Authentication: None
portDisableReason: None
portCFlags: 0x1
portFlags: 0x1   PRESENT
LocalSwcFlags: 0x0
portType:  18.0
POD Port: Port is licensed
portState: 2    Offline
Protocol: FC
portPhys:  5    No_Sync         portScn:   2    Offline
port generation number:    0
state transition count:    1

portId:    000000
portIfId:    43020013
portWwn:   20:03:00:05:33:f0:51:aa
portWwn of device(s) connected:
        None
Distance:  normal
portSpeed: Negotiating

Credit Recovery: Inactive
LE domain: 0
Peer beacon: Off
FC Fastwrite: OFF
Interrupts:        0          Link_failure: 0          Frjt:         0
Unknown:           0          Loss_of_sync: 0          Fbsy:         0
Lli:               539        Loss_of_sig:  0
Proc_rqrd:         0          Protocol_err: 0
Timed_out:         0          Invalid_word: 0
Rx_flushed:        0          Invalid_crc:  0
Tx_unavail:        0          Delim_err:    0
Free_buffer:       0          Address_err:  0
Overrun:           0          Lr_in:        0
Suspended:         0          Lr_out:       0
Parity_err:        0          Ols_in:       0
2_parity_err:      0          Ols_out:      0
CMI_bus_err:       0

Port part of other ADs: No
SWITCH1B:admin>
SWITCH1B:admin>
SWITCH1B:admin> portcfgshow 3
Area Number:              3
Speed Level:              AUTO(HW)
Fill Word(On Active)      1(Arbff-Arbff)
Fill Word(Current)        1(Arbff-Arbff)
Trunk Port                OFF
Locked N_Port             OFF
Persistent Disable        OFF
LOS TOV mode              0(OFF)
NPIV capability           ON
QOS Port                  OFF
Port Auto Disable:        OFF
Rate Limit                OFF
Credit Recovery           OFF
F_Port Buffers            OFF
E_Port Credits            OFF
Fault Delay:              0(R_A_TOV)
NPIV PP Limit:            255
NPIV FLOGI Logout:        OFF
TDZ mode:                 OFF

SWITCH1B:admin> porterrshow 3
           frames      enc    crc    crc    too    too    bad    enc   disc   link   loss   loss   frjt   fbsy  c3timeout    pcs
        tx     rx      in    err    g_eof  shrt   long   eof     out   c3    fail    sync   sig                  tx    rx     err
  3:    0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0
SWITCH1B:admin>
SWITCH1B:admin>
SWITCH1B:admin>
SWITCH1B:admin>
SWITCH1B:admin>
SWITCH1B:admin> date
Thu Feb 16 13:57:33 UTC 2017
SWITCH1B:admin>
SWITCH1B:admin>
SWITCH1B:admin>
SWITCH1B:admin>
SWITCH1B:admin> firmwareshow
Appl     Primary/Secondary Versions
------------------------------------------
FOS      v7.4.1a
         v7.4.1a
SWITCH1B:admin>
SWITCH1B:admin>
SWITCH1B:admin>
SWITCH1B:admin> portlogdumpport 3
time         task       event   port cmd  args
-------------------------------------------------

13:57:21.051 SPEE       sn        3   WS  00000020,00000000,00000000
13:57:24.051 SPEE       sn        3   WS  00000020,00000000,00000000
13:57:27.051 SPEE       sn        3   WS  00000020,00000000,00000000
13:57:30.051 SPEE       sn        3   WS  00000020,00000000,00000000
13:57:33.051 SPEE       sn        3   WS  00000020,00000000,00000000
13:57:36.051 SPEE       sn        3   WS  00000020,00000000,00000000
13:57:39.051 SPEE       sn        3   WS  00000020,00000000,00000000
13:57:42.051 SPEE       sn        3   WS  00000020,00000000,00000000
13:57:45.051 SPEE       sn        3   WS  00000020,00000000,00000000
13:57:48.051 SPEE       sn        3   WS  00000020,00000000,00000000
SWITCH1B:admin>

Broadcom Moderator
Posts: 449
Registered: ‎03-29-2011

Re: Lli errors incrementing

Suspected as much. Have you tried to set the port to fixed speed?




If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution".


Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-07-2008

Re: Lli errors incrementing

Yes.  Tried setting it to 8G and 4G, then back to auto.  Still the same. 

 

Then I swapped blades, between ports 3 and 4, the port that failed to connect before connected while it was in slot 4.  Then I put the blades back and it did not work.

 

Then we left the blades in their original slots 3 and 4, which still connected them to ports 3 and 4, then removed and swapped the HBA mezzanine cards.  The HBA in slot 3 works in slot 4 now, and the hba in slot 4 works in slot 3 now.  I left alone and re-alias/re-zoned.  Seems like a hardware problem somewhere to me, either on the mezzanine, or blade chassis, but can't find a consistent failure or error other than the LLI count incrementing.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook