Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-06-2009

LSAN zones - how are the counted?

Hi,

 

I´m using integrated routing (FCR) in my core backbone, and I´m very close to maximum LSAN zone count, which is set to maximum hard limit 5000 LSAN zones.

My question is, in which way the FCR count LSAN zones.

 

1 LSAN zone with single initiator single target counts for 1 LSAN zone
Fabric ID: 14 Zone Name: lsan_UBS_appvault002_nj20a_vnx_nj09_02_spa0_ix09a_zone
50:01:43:80:28:d1:3e:68 initiator
50:06:01:60:08:60:1d:0e target


1 LSAN zone with single initiator multiple targets count for 1 LSAN zone or multiple LSAN zones?
Fabric ID: 14 Zone Name: lsan_UBS_exmrdk002_nj20a_vmax3_nj_02_6e1_6g1_12e1_12g1_zone
10:00:00:05:1e:fb:74:ad initiator
50:00:09:74:08:40:05:15 target
50:00:09:74:08:40:05:95 target
50:00:09:74:08:40:05:2d target
50:00:09:74:08:40:05:ad target

 

 

Regards,

 

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎08-09-2013

Re: LSAN zones - how are the counted?

Hello

 

You can set the maximum number of LSAN zones, or LSAN count, that can be configured on the edge fabrics. By default, the maximum LSAN count is set to 3,000. You can increase the maximum LSAN count to 5,000 without disabling the switch. The maximum number of LSAN devices supported is 10,000 (this includes both physical and proxy devices). If you have 3,000 LSAN zones but have not exceeded the 10,000 device limit, you can increase the LSAN count to 5,000. All FC routers in the same backbone fabric should have the same maximum LSAN count defined, to prevent the FC routers from running into indefinite state. Asymmetric LSAN configurations due to different maximum LSAN counts could lead to different devices being imported on different FC routers.

 

  1. Enter the fcrlsancount command with no parameters to display the current LSAN limit.

 

switch:admin> fcrlsancount

LSAN Zone Limit 3000

 

  1. Enter the fcrlsancount command and specify the new LSAN zone limit.

 

switch:admin> fcrlsancount 5000

LSAN Zone Limit 5000

 

 

Because the maximum number of LSANs is configured for each switch, if there is a different maximum LSAN count on the switches throughout the metaSAN, then the device import and export will not be identical on the FC routers. You should enter the same maximum LSAN count for all the FC routers in the same backbone that support this feature. Verify the configured maximum limit against the LSANs configured using the “fcrResourceShow” command.

 

Thanks

Detenttorque

Valued Contributor
Posts: 547
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: LSAN zones - how are the counted?

As far as I know, one zone counts as one zone regardless of how many members are included in that zone.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-06-2009

Re: LSAN zones - how are the counted?

Thanks, that was also my thought.

 

I have been looking into a lot of Brocade documentation, but I can´t find anything to support or clarify that.

Do you or anyone have any Brocade documentation reference to clarify this question?

Valued Contributor
Posts: 547
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: LSAN zones - how are the counted?

You can actually count the LSAN zones yourself with lsanzoneshow

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.