Fibre Channel (SAN)

Occasional Contributor

L2 connectivity through brocade silkworm 48000 fiber channel switch

Hi, I am new to brocade world but fimiliar with cisco, I have a little query, our company bought silkworm 48000 fiber 3 days ago, I managed to get the webmanagement as well as telnet, the question is I have another fiber switch and initialy I want to connect 4 port of silkworm 48000 with that switch and I want to carry vlan 207 via trunk in between both switches, is it possible ?  can someone guide me as this switch is totally linux base and I am not good with it :/

also is this switch cabapble of layer 3 routing as I saw in web managenet some advance option but did not get it.

please forgive me if I asked anything stupid as I am new to brocade Smiley Very Happy

Thanks in advance.

Kindest regards,

Uzair 

External Moderator

Re: L2 connectivity through brocade silkworm 48000 fiber channel switch

--->>>also is this switch cabapble of layer 3 routing..

Brocade 48000, is a SAN Fibre Channel Switch and not a Ethernet Layer Switch.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor

Ok thx, but can you please advise about layer 2 connectivity through trunk ? 

Thanks in advace.

Uzair

External Moderator

Layer 2 on 48000 is not supported, neither with nor without truning

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor

so what I understood it is simply a hub where I can connect my SAN devices and they will transmit high speed data from 1 to another through its fiber port correct ? actually we already have Brocade 300 switch and it is connected with our VMWARE, what we want to is that connect 4 more host and interconnect with brocade 300 as its port are full.

Occasional Contributor

Please help me out I want to connect this switch with my brocade 300 which is fiber and add 4 more host as we are full at brocade 300, do I need to add few ports in zone or what?

appreciate your quick response and thanks in advnace.

Kindest Regards,

Uzair

Occasional Contributor