Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-31-2010

Issue Brocade 415 HBA, can't support direct attach?

I have  IBM servers with VMWARE ESX 4.1, I use the Brocade HBA 415, is this true HBA does not  support if connected with a direct-attached storage?
Because I try to connect my servers with EMC storage, the result ... if I direct-attach the HBA, wwn not detected in EMC storage, but if I use san switches, everything is running well.

Does anyone have the same problem, and have found a way out?

Thanks & Regards,

RD

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Issue Brocade 415 HBA, can't support direct attach?

--->>> is this true HBA does not  support if connected with a direct-attached storage?

--->>> if I direct-attach the HBA, wwn not detected in EMC storage,

Yes, and some EMC Array cannot be used as DAS because the Controller Microcode not support those feature.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-31-2010

Re: Issue Brocade 415 HBA, can't support direct attach?

I already try to change the hba card (using emulex LPe11000) and HBA wwn can detect on the EMC Storage (CX4-120).

I think it means no problem with the EMC storage.

so far it means the brocade 415 HBA dosn't support for direct attach.

Thanks All.

BR,

RD

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Issue Brocade 415 HBA, can't support direct attach?

Have you try with another Boot Code and Firmware for the Brocade HBA ?

In HBA Bios Mode, what kind of feature ara available you can set ?

e.g. Point-to-Point, etc...

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-31-2010

Re: Issue Brocade 415 HBA, can't support direct attach?

Yes,  initially I used the driver for ESX 4.0 (before the release of firmware  for ESX 4.1), after the firmware for the ESX 4.1 release, I uinstall my old  firmware and replace with the newest firmware (firmware for esx 4.1), but ... wwn still can not be detected.

I  also have to change boot code settings via BCU command BCU, and I set  topology using "auto"  as well as "point-to-point" but wwn still not detected  on EMC storage.

-----

# bcu port - topology 1 / 0 auto

# bcu port - topology 1 / 0 p2p

-----

BR

RD

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Issue Brocade 415 HBA, can't support direct attach?

--->>>......initially I used the driver for ESX 4.0...

was work this Driver and the OLD FW with the Array as DAS ?

I'll try to find more and post here. 

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-31-2010

Re: Issue Brocade 415 HBA, can't support direct attach?

Doesn't work if using DAS.

But running well if i connect via san switch.

BR,

RD

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Issue Brocade 415 HBA, can't support direct attach?

--->>> But running well if i connect via san switch.

we know hat the HBA work fine when is connected to any SAN Switches, and this is another sort of story as your Threads

N/A
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-01-2010

Re: Issue Brocade 415 HBA, can't support direct attach?

I actually ran into this same issue today, and feel a lot better that I've come across this thread.  I have a new Dell R710 server running VSphere 4.1 that I wanted to direct-attach to an EMC Clariion CX700.  No matter what I did, I could not get the CX700 to see the HBAs.  After posting in the VMware forums, someone informed me that direct-attached is not supported, only 'fibre channel switched' mode. So I'm now purchasing a cheap switch on EBay so I can get up and running.  Funny how its the little details that always hold you up in the end!

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook