Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-04-2016

How to migrate traditional zoning to peer zoneing?

Hi,

 

We have 66 host connected to two fabric domain. Current zoning is configured with one to many initiator. Now we want to migrate current zoning to peer zoning. Here is our SAN specification:

 

Brocade Model: 6510

Fabric OS Version : 7.4.x

 

So what is best option to migrate?

 

Awaiting to  hear from anyone.

 

Thanks,

Badsha.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,985
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How to migrate traditional zoning to peer zoneing?

Badsha,

 

-> We have 66 host

 

-> connected to two fabric domain.

 

-> Brocade Model: 6510

 

Can you please specified a bit more ?

 

66 Host from a count cannot be connected to 6510 because the switch have only 48 Port.

 

Are the 66 Host per Fabric or in Total and distributed on both Fabric ?

 

Keep in mind, you don’t have with such a design any Failover.

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-04-2016

Re: How to migrate traditional zoning to peer zoneing?

Hi Antonio,

 

In the current environment having total 4 x 6510 switch. So we used 2 x 6510 is one Fabic and 2 x 6510  is for 2nd fabric. 

 

Currently legacy zoning is configure and it is working. But current zoning is not comply with best practice as we used one to many initiator method which is increasing RSCN strom. Since we have Fabric OS 7.4 which is supporting peer zoning so we are planing to migrate legacy zoning to peer zoning to take advantage peer zoning which is comply with best practice. So we are looking way forward for migration. 

 

Please let know for further information.

 

Thanks,

Badsha.

 

 

External Moderator
Posts: 4,985
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How to migrate traditional zoning to peer zoneing?

As per my opinion a simple way to migrate the zone into a productive environment, you have to implement the BNA.
Alternative, but bit difficult, make sure both fabric are full redundant path, create a new config i.e. in Fabric_A, convert the Zoning in the new config, and then set to active.

 

is not a easy way...

TechHelp24
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎04-05-2011

Re: How to migrate traditional zoning to peer zoneing?

Hello Antonio, He could create a new peer zone in the same configuration , and after all initiators were covered by the new peer zone, the traditional zone could be removed/deleted from the refered config, isn't it ?
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎02-05-2014

Re: How to migrate traditional zoning to peer zoneing?

Simply create a new config with just peer zones configured.  After all that is done simply enable that config and remove the old config plus old zones. Would take around 10 minutes to create a simple script like that if you know the targets and associated initiators.

Kind regards,
Erwin van Londen
Brocade Distinguished Architect
http://www.erwinvanlonden.net The Fibre Channel blog


Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

Click to Register
Download FREE NVMe eBook