Fibre Channel (SAN)

Occasional Contributor

How to break a fabric that was created accidentally

Hello

I am relatively new to this so please forgive me if my terminolgy doesn't match the official one.

We have been using 2 x Brocade 5100 switches for a couple of years without issue.

One is dedicated to SAN node A the other to SAN node B.

These both operated as standalone switches during that time.

A few weeks ago the 2 switches were accidentally connected together and we started getting some strange behaviour.

We noticed a week later that the 2 switches have now formed a fabric.

Our issues may be the result of accidentally creating a fabric and not having set it up correctly, however we want to attempt the easier option.......revert to what we had previously.

How can we safely split these 2 switches and revert them to standalone with a minimum of interruption?

These are in Production and due to some incidents we have had lately, we are loathe to call for another maintenance window.

Some searching indicatees the following procedure is do-able, but is there a better/safer way:

1) login to the Subordinate switch

2) persistantdisable the port that connects to the Primary switch

3) change the switchrole to Disabled (the docs say that my only options are Primary, Subordinate and Disabled)

4) If all goes well, login to the Primary switch and do the same. 

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Brocade Moderator

Re: How to break a fabric that was created accidentally

Hello,

Yes not much to do except remove the ISLs.

Check zoning after the removal.