Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-15-2011

How to activate additional SFP (port 8 - 15) on Brocade 300?

Hi Expert,

This is my first time to configure Brocade 300.

From the box, we've already have 8 SFP and it's default license.

We need 8 more ports to configure our servers & storage (total 16 ports needed).

But, from the Brocade, seems like there's only 8 ports activated.

My question, how to enable my another 8 SFP's ?

Kindly appreciate for the help.

Regards,

FYA

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-15-2011

Re: How to activate additional SFP (port 8 - 15) on Brocade 300?

Additional information,

I've already access the BrocadeSoftware Portal,  trying to query the license. But it need "Transaction Key".

How can i get this 'Transaction Key' ? I've tried searching in the box, but i found nothing.

Can i activate my additional 8 ports without this key?

Thanks.FYA

External Moderator
Posts: 4,985
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How to activate additional SFP (port 8 - 15) on Brocade 300?

In order to Activated POD = Port on Demand, you must purchase additional License.

Ask you Local reseller or OEM if the switch is from OEM, e.g IBM, HP,

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-15-2011

Re: How to activate additional SFP (port 8 - 15) on Brocade 300?

Hi,

It's an OracleSUN's OEM.

But they recommend me to directly contact to the Brocade.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,985
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How to activate additional SFP (port 8 - 15) on Brocade 300?

--->>> But they recommend me to directly contact to the Brocade.

Brocade don't sell License Direct to Customer.

TechHelp24
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎12-26-2010

Re: How to activate additional SFP (port 8 - 15) on Brocade 300?

is it part of the Oracle Exadata environment any chance?

N/A
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-29-2011

Re: How to activate additional SFP (port 8 - 15) on Brocade 300?

Your Sun/Oracle sales person is being slack.

To order an 8 pack of 8Gb SFPs you order  SGXSWBROSFP8GSWP-N

To order the 8 Ports on Demand, which have a Brocade Part Number of BR-SMEDPOD-01, you need to use (or we have used for example) a Sales Part of 7100962.

With the way Oracle work, they may find they have to talk to software sales to get the Ports on Demand, because it is a feature key enablement.

Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎11-11-2010

Re: How to activate additional SFP (port 8 - 15) on Brocade 300?

my bad.. i will answer with english

bro yanuar.. U should buy a license port called ports on demand, with this license u could activate your additional ports in ur SAN switch

u can buy POD to ur spplier and distributor

sorry for my mistake before..

thx for tech help24

External Moderator
Posts: 4,985
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How to activate additional SFP (port 8 - 15) on Brocade 300?

Please post here in English at next Time and not in Indonesian Language.

BTW, AFAIK, is not allowed to Sell/Offer Item trough this Community.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

Click to Register
Download FREE NVMe eBook