Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎03-31-2013

How many ISLs can i have

Hi all

If i have a FC16-48 blade, how many maximum ISLs i can create.

what would be the Max speed of an octet

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How many ISLs can i have

theoretically you can create so many ISL = Inter Switch Link,  as you have free port in such case 48.

have they 48 switch which you want to connect via ISL ?

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎03-31-2013

Re: How many ISLs can i have

Assumptions i have  2  fc16-48 Port blades

Max ISLs that i can create?

Minimum ports needed to create an ISL trunk is?

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How many ISLs can i have

ISL and Trunking are TWO Different things.

Simple ISL consist a connectity from One Port Switch to other Port Switch.

by Trunking you need min. 2 Port in order to create Trunking

how many ?

the answer is the same, as you have free port.

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎03-31-2013

Re: How many ISLs can i have

So no. of ISLs = No of Free ports

Right?

No of trunks is just to increase the performance of ISLs

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How many ISLs can i have

is right.

trunking mode bundle TWO or more Port into one, max. 8 Port in same Octet.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.