Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-30-2004

How do you set different default gateways for each CP in DCX

Hi

This is a question regarding the setup of the DCX -4S switch, we have a datacentre that has multiple management networks that reside that are physically/logically separated, the standard is for any device with multiple management ports to be diversely connected.

So on our DCX we have the following set up, the problem is that CP0 should have a Gateway IP of 10.19.23.254 but if you try and change it you set both CPs to have the same gateway causing the other CP to become unreachable

CP0
Ethernet IP Address: 10.19.23.134
Ethernet Subnetmask: 255.255.255.0
Host Name: cp0
Gateway IP Address: 10.19.24.254

CP1
Ethernet IP Address: 10.19.24.139
Ethernet Subnetmask: 255.255.255.0
Host Name: cp1
Gateway IP Address: 10.19.24.254

Is there a way to have different gateways on the CPs, or do I need to get them attached to the same subnet

Thanks

Regular Contributor
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎04-21-2008

Re: How do you set different default gateways for each CP in DCX

Hi -

as far as I know (I only have 48Ks but it should be the same with DCX) both CPs have to be in the same subnet, in order to be able to failover Chassis'IP address.

Have a look at help ippaddrset :

switch:admin>ipaddrshow

           CHASSIS
           Ethernet IP Address: 10.32.220.10
           Ethernet Subnetmask: 255.255.240.0

           CP0
           Ethernet IP Address: 10.32.220.11
           Ethernet Subnetmask: 255.255.240.0
           Host Name: cp0
           Gateway IP Address: 10.32.208.1

           CP1
           Ethernet IP Address: 10.32.220.12
           Ethernet Subnetmask: 255.255.240.0
           Host Name: cp1
           Gateway IP Address: 10.32.208.1

Hope this helps

Kind regards,

--

david

External Moderator
Posts: 5,033
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How do you set different default gateways for each CP in DCX

--->>> How do you set different default gateways for each CP in DCX

You cannot set Different IP and/or gateway on Both CP or for Chassis as follow reason.

Both CP Active/Standby must in the same IP range, SubnetMask and must have same Gateway.

When the Active CP Fail the Standby become as Active.

If One of Both CP would have different Gateway parametersin the config, the HA would be Crash, and the Standby cannot Support the Active CP or vice-versa.

Finally, Both CP are not intended for multiple management, because only One CP at time is Active. Both CP cannot be Activated-up at same time.

TechHelp24
Regular Contributor
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎04-21-2008

Re: How do you set different default gateways for each CP in DCX

Thanks for better explanation

I would add that from an IP point of view both CP eth interfaces are active at the same time (ie. LAN reachable) but only one is in charge of Chassis'IP.

Regards,

--

david

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-30-2004

Re: How do you set different default gateways for each CP in DCX

Thanks very much for the help, I suspected that might be the case.

External Moderator
Posts: 5,033
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How do you set different default gateways for each CP in DCX

--->>> I would add that from an IP point of view both CP eth interfaces are active at the same time...

In the past by 12000 and 24000 with 4.x FOS Release, was possible to work with TWO Domain Management,

here was Dual Domain Config Supported and TWO IP Address for the Chassis, hovewer in same IP Range same Single Domain

Since FOS 5.x Support Only Single Domain, only One Chassis IP can be Set, and this is the Reason you cannot manage the DIrector's 24000, 48000 and DCX form dual management.

The management is carried out by Chassis IP and not from CP IP

CP IP work like a Server Cluster, the one Monitored the other one.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook