Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-24-2009

How can I display the Control Processor (CPU) usage of a DCX Director

Hello,

can somebody tell me how to monitor/display the actual Control Processor (CPU) Usage of a DCX Director.

(We have FOS Version 6.2.0g installed)

With the "tempshow" command i can display the temperature of each blade. Is there a similar command for the CPU usage?

Thanks for help.

Regards


Daniel

Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-16-2007

Re: How can I display the Control Processor (CPU) usage of a DCX Director

Hello Daniel

There is two to display CPU usage

  1. Log as admin and run the UPTIME command, the output will be like below

09:32:09 up 177 days, 13:02,  1 user,  load average: 0.70, 0.63, 0.57

Date-Days-user login load average 1, 5, 15 minutes

  1. Login as root and run the following command TOP, this will show the CPU usage and process

Note: That when you are log with root you are accessing directly to the Fabric OS and before running any command make sure you  know the outcome because you can do a lot or arm to the switch.

Last I am not responsible is you decided to used the second solution

top - 09:35:54 up 177 days, 13:06,  1 user,  load average: 0.49, 0.56, 0.54

Tasks: 123 total,   2 running, 121 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie

Cpu(s):  1.0%us,  3.3%sy,  0.0%ni, 95.3%id,  0.0%wa,  0.3%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st

Mem:   1862772k total,   910944k used,   951828k free,    32532k buffers

Swap:        0k total,        0k used,        0k free,   585012k cached

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND

2760 root      16   0 71620 4292 3156 S  2.0  0.2 114:46.28 emd

5083 root      33  18 59960 7656 3416 S  1.3  0.4  51:48.67 fwd

5145 root      16   0  135m  81m  79m S  0.7  4.5  33:37.70 iswitchd

24474 root      16   0  2172 1052  832 R  0.3  0.1   0:00.03 top

    1 root      16   0  1696  596  524 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.37 init

    2 root      34  19     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:04.82 ksoftirqd/0

    3 root      10  -5     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 events/0

    4 root      19  -5     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 khelper

    5 root      11  -5     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 kthread

   29 root      10  -5     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 kblockd/0

   62 root      20   0     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 pdflush

   63 root      15   0     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.23 pdflush

   65 root      20  -5     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 aio/0

   64 root      25   0     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 kswapd0

   66 root      20  -5     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 xfslogd/0

   67 root      20  -5     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 xfsdatad/0

   68 root      10  -5     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 xfsbufd

  761 root      15   0     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:33.02 kjournald

  779 root      RT   0  1676  412  348 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 wdtd

  839 root      15   0     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.45 kjournald

  985 root      10  -5     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 eth1/0

  988 root      11  -5     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 eth2/0

1007 root      10  -5     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 eth0/0

Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: How can I display the Control Processor (CPU) usage of a DCX Director

why do u need the usage of CP blade?portperfshow wil give you the port utilization? DCX CP blades are there to take enough load.do not run any cmnd through root unless until asked by Brocade for trouble shooting, because if you do something wrong, the Brocade will not help you also.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-24-2009

Re: How can I display the Control Processor (CPU) usage of a DCX Director

thanks for the fast answers!

i need the command for troubleshouting...

we installed a Brocade SMI-S service on a management server to log the utilization of our DCX Directors. After 3 or 4 hours many servers had problems to

access their LUNs. we think, that the SMI-S service heavy increase the CPU of the DCX Directors.

I only look at the cpu usage with the root account, i don´t do any other actions.

Super Contributor
Posts: 635
Registered: ‎04-12-2010

Re: How can I display the Control Processor (CPU) usage of a DCX Director

Hi Daniel,

with FOS 6.3.x you get the option to monitor the CPU and memory usage :-)

FabricWatch is also then able to monitor the load and usage.

The sysMonitor command enables you to manage your system’s memory or CPU usage. To execute this command, you must have chassis-level permission in a virtual fabric (VF) environment.

System monitoring is disabled by default. You must run both the --config -mem and the --config -cpu commands to enable both memory and CPU system monitoring.

I know that this will not help you currently because of your installed FOS version.

Regards,

Andreas

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-24-2009

Re: How can I display the Control Processor (CPU) usage of a DCX Director

Hey Andreas,

thanks for your answer!

This week we upgrade our FOS version to 6.3.1b, therefore your information is very interesting for me.

Regards,

Daniel

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-23-2009

Re: How can I display the Control Processor (CPU) usage of a DCX Director

Try to use "top" command

Thanks

Shahwar

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook