Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-14-2017

High invalid_word count on one port

 

Hi,

 

I have a high rising invalid_word count (and several other counters) just one minute after portstatsclear:

 

 

Interrupts:        0          Link_failure: 0          Frjt:         0
Unknown:           0          Loss_of_sync: 0          Fbsy:         0
Lli:               100        Loss_of_sig:  0
Proc_rqrd:         9          Protocol_err: 0
Timed_out:         0          Invalid_word: 97107476
Rx_flushed:        0          Invalid_crc:  0
Tx_unavail:        0          Delim_err:    0
Free_buffer:       0          Address_err:  0
Overrun:           0          Lr_in:        1
Suspended:         0          Lr_out:       0
Parity_err:        0          Ols_in:       0
2_parity_err:      0          Ols_out:      1
CMI_bus_err:       0

 

 

 

It is a 8 GBit SW SFP:

 

Transceiver: 540c402000000000 2,4,8_Gbps M5,M6 sw Inter_dist


sfpshow reveals a remarkable low RX Power value:

 

f2sansw01:FID128:boldts> sfpshow 35 | grep Power
RX Power: -15.6 dBm (27.7 uW) 0.0 uW 6550.0 uW 49.0 uW 1100.0 uW
TX Power: -2.6 dBm (551.8 uW) 50.0 uW 800.0 uW 100.0 uW 700.0 uW

 When looking at the RX and TX Power values on the connected device (AIX HBA) everything seems to be good:

 

 

/dev/fscsi1
TX: 127e -> 0.4734 mW, -3.25 dBm
RX: 1a0c -> 0.6668 mW, -1.76 dBm

 

Is a defect cable the most likely reason for that? Are there other possible reasons? 

 

Thanks very much in advance!

 

regards,
Stephan

 

Brocade Moderator
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎04-27-2009

Re: High invalid_word count on one port

Hi,

 

yes that could be possible. There is also a chance that its one of the SFPs. For the sfpshow better use the -f (force)option to be 100% sure that the values shown are the current ones.

 

I see your connection also shows Link Resets. After another statsclear do the Invalid words increment on the link continuously?

 

TL

If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution".

Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-18-2017

Re: High invalid_word count on one port

Yes you are possible right.
I would first change the cable if that does not work then the SFP in the AIX.
And Thomas is right use the -f for sfpshow to get it to update.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-14-2017

Re: High invalid_word count on one port

Hi and thanks for your input! The -f option of sfpshow lead to the same values. I guess I'll try to replace the cable first.

 

How reliable is the TX Power value in general? Can the SFP properly detect how strong its own signal is? Is there is sensor next to the laser doing real measurement of the signal strength? 

 

Thanks a lot!

 

regards,
Stephan

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-14-2017

Re: High invalid_word count on one port

...and you asked about the link resets.  These are the current values a few hours after my first posting which was about a minute after portstatsclear:

 

Interrupts:        0          Link_failure: 0          Frjt:         0
Unknown:           0          Loss_of_sync: 0          Fbsy:         0
Lli:               22680      Loss_of_sig:  0
Proc_rqrd:         27         Protocol_err: 0
Timed_out:         0          Invalid_word: 300977138
Rx_flushed:        0          Invalid_crc:  0
Tx_unavail:        0          Delim_err:    0
Free_buffer:       0          Address_err:  0
Overrun:           0          Lr_in:        3
Suspended:         0          Lr_out:       1
Parity_err:        0          Ols_in:       1
2_parity_err:      0          Ols_out:      3
CMI_bus_err:       0

As you can see the Invalid_word counter keeps on rising and there also were additional link resets.

These are the values exactly 60 seconds after another portstatsclear:

Interrupts:        0          Link_failure: 0          Frjt:         0
Unknown:           0          Loss_of_sync: 0          Fbsy:         0
Lli:               61         Loss_of_sig:  0
Proc_rqrd:         0          Protocol_err: 0
Timed_out:         0          Invalid_word: 50080703
Rx_flushed:        0          Invalid_crc:  0
Tx_unavail:        0          Delim_err:    0
Free_buffer:       0          Address_err:  0
Overrun:           0          Lr_in:        0
Suspended:         0          Lr_out:       0
Parity_err:        0          Ols_in:       0
2_parity_err:      0          Ols_out:      0
CMI_bus_err:       0

Brocade Moderator
Posts: 302
Registered: ‎03-29-2011

Re: High invalid_word count on one port

is this a 8GB switch, and is the device connected at 8G speed, then I wonder what is the fillword setting on the port and device...




If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution".


Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.