Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-18-2009

Hard Zoning Doesn't Work on Linux 6.3, but will on 4.9

We have decided to hard zone our LTO3 drives to our backup servers (LINUX). 

On our rel 6.3 server, it can't find the drives (no issues when we soft zone), but on our rel 4.9 server, the drives are working properly. 

Has anyone else had this experience, or any idea why we are experiencing this?

Thanks.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: Hard Zoning Doesn't Work on Linux 6.3, but will on 4.9

Hi,

sorry but I quite don't understand your consult, where did you configure hard and soft zoning, in the switch? how?

kind rgds

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-18-2009

Re: Hard Zoning Doesn't Work on Linux 6.3, but will on 4.9

On the Brocade switch, I created a hard zone with the port the LTO3 drive was connected to, and the HBA WWN of the backup server.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: Hard Zoning Doesn't Work on Linux 6.3, but will on 4.9

Hi,

Oki, so on the one hand you created a zone containing the LTO3  drive port and the HBA wwn, could you, please post it here, so that we're in the same page. Becasue, when you create a zone like the one you've described, it is called Session-based hardware enforcement zoning.

What different did you do to make the soft zone? could you post it as well? because afaik, there are no software zones anymore, everything's hardware enforced..

Rgds

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-18-2009

Re: Hard Zoning Doesn't Work on Linux 6.3, but will on 4.9

The soft zone consists of the WWN of the LTO drive, and the WWN of the backup server HBA. 

That is the way it is currently set, and is working.  It would not work as "Session-based" zoning at OS v.6.3, but the "Session-based" is currently working at OS v.4.9.

For example: (output from zoneshow)

rhtsutility02 - v. 4.9

zone:  rhtsutility02_lto3_6

                100,20

                21:00:00:24:ff:69:57:cb

zone:  rhtsutility02_lto3_7

                100,21

                21:00:00:24:ff:69:5e:1f

rhesutil02 - v. 6.3

zone:  rhesutil02_01_lto3_9

                50:05:07:63:12:45:60:6f

                21:00:00:24:ff:68:e9:d6

zone:  rhesutil02_02_lto3_2

                50:05:07:63:12:01:4f:2e

                21:00:00:24:ff:69:5e:8a

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: Hard Zoning Doesn't Work on Linux 6.3, but will on 4.9

I see, I consider a zone made up only of WWN a HARD zone, but the name does not matter.

I would try the following in order to see if something's wrong with the switch:

As per your post, the following two zones are working:

zone:  rhesutil02_01_lto3_9

                50:05:07:63:12:45:60:6f  <-- LTO3

                21:00:00:24:ff:68:e9:d6   <-- HBA

zone:  rhesutil02_02_lto3_2

                50:05:07:63:12:01:4f:2e  <-- LTO3

                21:00:00:24:ff:69:5e:8a   <-- HBA

Please, collect the output of portcamshow <slot/port> for the port where each HBA is connected.

change the zoning to the one that is failing (please paste the two zones so that we can see 'em).

and perform the portcamshow <slot/port> again on the same ports.

The result should be the same, otherwise there something wrong with the zone.

But,  technically speaking I prefer to a zone made up only of WWN, rather than mixing WWN and ports in the same zone.

Rgds

Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎09-11-2012

Re: Hard Zoning Doesn't Work on Linux 6.3, but will on 4.9

Are both of these zones in the active zoneset at the same time? If so, you might be experiencing a zoning conflict...

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-18-2009

Re: Hard Zoning Doesn't Work on Linux 6.3, but will on 4.9

No, I have either the hard zone (Session based) zone, or the soft zone.  Not both.

Thanks.

Occasional Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-15-2011

Re: Hard Zoning Doesn't Work on Linux 6.3, but will on 4.9

Hi,  i'm having similar trouble with Linux SUSE 11 SP2 servers.   After configuring the zoning with softzoning  (aliases with PWWN),  most of the servers loose the visibility of the LTO3 Tape Drives (Tape Library is HP EML 348). 

 

If I reconfigure the zoning using aliases containing switchID,port  (Hard zoning),  SUSE servers recover LTO3 tape drives visibility.

 

Any idea?  Is there any dependency with the Linux HBA Driver and zoning method?

 

 

Thanks a lot

External Moderator
Posts: 5,046
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Hard Zoning Doesn't Work on Linux 6.3, but will on 4.9

In Linux environments, - when i understood correctly your question, this is a backup server or a server in backup environments -

I would suggest to set the Port as Permanent Binding.

 

 

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook