Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-10-2010

Flash Memory Out of Range

Hi all,

the problem after upgrade the firmware is:

FW-1402 Res Flash 0, is above high boundary(High=85, Low=0). Current value  is 88 Percentage (%).

FW-1424 Switch status changed from HEALTHY to MARGINAL.

FW-1435 Switch status change contributing factor Flash: usage out of range.

ORANGE Important A situation exists where if not corrected, may result in a malfunctioning of the SAN.

I`ve done `supportSave -R" without any success.

Any Ideas?

best regards,

Ralf

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-10-2010

Re: Flash Memory Out of Range

Firmware Upgrade to OS 5.3.2

External Moderator
Posts: 5,043
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Flash Memory Out of Range

--->>> Firmware Upgrade to OS 5.3.2

from which release ?

If the current FOS rel. lower as 5.2.x use the command "savecore -l"

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 5,043
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Flash Memory Out of Range

BTW, you are in the wrong Forum

post please such question in the future in Products, Technology, and Architecture

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-10-2010

Re: Flash Memory Out of Range

Hello Support-Team,

the Command "savecore -l" it`s wrong.

"This command is no longer supported as of v5.3.0"

The Switch Release is v5.3.2.

Is there a new command?

best regards,

Ralf



External Moderator
Posts: 5,043
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Flash Memory Out of Range

savecore work as mentioned till FOS 5.2.x, and is not longer available in 5.3 or higher.

use here the command "supportftp"

for details / operands refer the Command Reference Manuals.

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-10-2010

Re: Flash Memory Out of Range

thanks!

so the command is "supportftp -R" .... my last question, this command does not delete my configuration, or?

Ralf

External Moderator
Posts: 5,043
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Flash Memory Out of Range

Ralf,

No. The command not delete any kind of config, just move/delete dump file to ftp.

If you are satisfied with the responses please mark as 'Answered'.
If not, just let me know I can see to get more info.

I would appreciated if you rate the threads.

TechHelp24
N/A
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-20-2009

Re: Flash Memory Out of Range

I encountered the same problem when upgrading FOS on a Brocade 200E from v5.3.2a to v6.0.1a.

Time Level Message Service Number Count Message ID Switch
Wed Jun 16 2010 14:12:10 GMT+00:00 Information Firmwarecommit has started. Chassis 664 1 SULB-1003 SIGRUN
Wed Jun 16 2010 14:12:14 GMT+00:00 Warning Res Flash 0, is above high boundary(High=85, Low=0). Current value is 89 Percentage(%). Switch 665 1 FW-1402 SIGRUN
Wed Jun 16 2010 14:12:39 GMT+00:00 Warning Switch status changed from HEALTHY to MARGINAL. Switch 666 1 FW-1424 SIGRUN
Wed Jun 16 2010 14:15:22 GMT+00:00 Information Firmwarecommit has completed. Chassis 667 1 SULB-1004 SIGRUN
Wed Jun 16 2010 14:15:22 GMT+00:00 Information The new Version: Fabric OS v6.0.1a Chassis 668 1 SULB-1036 SIGRUN

I tried running supportSave but that did not affect the switch status which is still marginal.

I was going to continue upgrading this switch to v6.1.2b and then v6.2.1b, so should I just continue upgrading or should I first correct this marginal status issue?

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook