Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-26-2017
Accepted Solution

Firmware upgrade on running cascade SAN switch.

Hello all, I would upgrade one pair of san switchs with cascade.

How to upgrade cascaded switchs procedures and consideration?

 

Background:

- Two san switch model: IBM-2498-B24, switch type: 71.2

- Two san switch frbic OS: v6.3.0d, target upgrade to 6.4 or 7.x, upgrade path with non-disruptively

- Single ISL

 

Thank all

External Moderator
Posts: 5,030
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Firmware upgrade on running cascade SAN switch.

@Gary Chan

 

is a commun question we discussed here in the community at several time.

 

in order to do FOS upgarde non-disruptive, you need to follow the target Path.

 

https://www.brocade.com/content/dam/common/documents/content-types/target-path-selection-guide/brocade-fos-target-path.pdf

 

keep in mind, it is mandatory to upgrade first to 6.4.x and then to 7.0.x bevore you can upgrade to higher FOS release.

 

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-26-2017

Re: Firmware upgrade on running cascade SAN switch.

[ Edited ]

Thank you your information. But, I major concern how to upgrade san switch under in cascade mode.

Should I break down the relationship before firmware upgrade?

 

IBM_2498_B24_1:admin> islshow
1: 5-> 5 10:00:00:05:1e:f8:6b:ac 2 IBM_2498_B24_2 sp: 4.000G bw: 4.000G
IBM_2498_B24_1:admin> fabricshow
Switch ID Worldwide Name Enet IP Addr FC IP Addr Name
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
1: fffc01 10:00:50:eb:1a:1a:3f:ec 192.168.1.1 0.0.0.0 "IBM_2498_B24_1"
2: fffc02 10:00:00:05:1e:f8:6b:ac 192.168.1.2 0.0.0.0 >"IBM_2498_B24_2"

 

=====================

After reviewed release notes of firmware, anyone switch must be operating at minimun firmware level noted in the FOS Interoperability table. 

 

example: Brocade 300 (IBM 2496_B24), v6.1.0e and later in list. If one of san switch upgraded to target version, remaining san switch in same frabic, that minimun firmware level must be v6.1.0e and later. Such that prevent non-disruptive configuration of SAN switch. Is that right?

 

====================

 

If above describe is correct, propose following steps as below:

1. Upgrade SW1 from 6.3.0.d to v6.4.1a (Non-disruptive)

2. Reboot SW1

3. Upgrade SW2 from 6.3.0.d to v6.4.1a

4. Reboot SW2

5. Upgrade SW1 from v6.4.1a to v7.0.0a (Non-disruptive)

6. Reboot SW1

7. Upgrade SW2 from v6.4.1a to v7.0.0a

8. Reboot SW2

 

Please let me know, if anything incorrect. Thanks

Brocade Moderator
Posts: 414
Registered: ‎03-29-2011

Re: Firmware upgrade on running cascade SAN switch.

Hi Gary,

 

we never break the relation ship when we upgrade.

Further, as part of the upgrade the switches are rebooted (controlled), so the sequence would be

 

1. Upgrade SW1 from 6.3.0.d to v6.4.1a (Non-disruptive)

2. Upgrade SW2 from 6.3.0.d to v6.4.1a (Non-disruptive)

3. Upgrade SW1 from v6.4.1a to v7.0.0a (Non-disruptive)

4. Upgrade SW2 from v6.4.1a to v7.0.0a (Non-disruptive)

 

In all normal case, with single step upgrade (like 6.3 to 6.4), upgrades are non disruptive. Even though you have a 6.3.0 connected to 6.4.1, for the duration of the upgrade the ISL from a 6.3 to a 6.4 switch will work.

 




If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution".


Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook