Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-22-2010

Fabric ID Conflict

Hi All,

 

   Anybody here experience with Fabric ID conflict?, in our customer have 3 sites DC and we configure for local site using ISL Long distanec via DWDM, and for Remote site we using FCIP with VEx-VE configuration.

 

A ---- ISLDWDM---- B  ;BB FID 13

 

A ---- FCIP VE-VEx ----- C ; BB FID 13

 

B ---- FCIP VE-VEx ----- C ; BB FID 13

 

A & B Local Site

C Remote Site

 

and we setting the FID from C to A using FID 21

and setting FID C to B using FID 21

 

and now the connection between C to A disabled due to Fabric ID Conflict. Can anybody help me how to solve this?

 

My question is :

 

1. Should i change the BB FID on C site to another value and make it different with A and B site?

 

Thank You,

 

Fadli

Regular Contributor
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎05-11-2011

Re: Fabric ID Conflict

Hi,

 

as C is your BB-Fabric, connections to Edge Fabrics have to have unique Fabric ID's.

So configure for Example FID 21 to Fabric A and FID 22 to Fabric B. Then it will work.

Kind Regards
Ralf
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-22-2010

Re: Fabric ID Conflict

Hi Ralf,

 

  The current config between A and B Site is One Fabric and merge using ISL LD via DWDM, thats why the BB FID

on A and B site using the same value, and we already tried differentiate the FID to A and B site from C site and the

port is disabled because the Fabric ID oversubscription.

 

Thank You,

 

Fadli

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-17-2008

Re: Fabric ID Conflict

There are 2 solutions.

1) You should use VE-VE conection instead of VE-VEX.   A, B and C are merged.

2) Use VE-VEX conection and change FID on Remote Site. Fabric C is isolated.

 

Regards

Robert

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-22-2010

Re: Fabric ID Conflict

Hi Robert,

 

  Do you mean FID on C Fabric or BB FID? Attach with this our current topology and config,

 

Thank You,

 

Fadli

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎02-05-2014

Re: Fabric ID Conflict

Change the C site to a different FID. That should work.

Kind regards,
Erwin van Londen
Brocade Distinguished Architect
http://www.erwinvanlonden.net The Fibre Channel blog


Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

Download FREE NVMe eBook